Legal shillelagh targets


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Is a bo staff an eligible target for the shillelagh spell? It says target club or staff, and a bo staff is clearly a type of staff (it even has "staff" in it's name).


1 person marked this as a favorite.

My conclusion is that no, a bo staff is not an eligible target.

The reason I have concluded that is because the shillelagh spell says "club or staff" which would be redundant if it were not referring to the specific weapons by those names. Because a staff (specific weapon) is a club (weapon group) just like a club (specific weapon) is.


I've houseruled for my own reasons, that the Bo Staff can be a target, but it behaves like a standard staff, because the spell description talks about vines and leaves, therefore temporarily warping it and removing the qualities it had.


thenobledrake wrote:

My conclusion is that no, a bo staff is not an eligible target.

The reason I have concluded that is because the shillelagh spell says "club or staff" which would be redundant if it were not referring to the specific weapons by those names. Because a staff (specific weapon) is a club (weapon group) just like a club (specific weapon) is.

This

- It clearly state "club" and "staff", pointing put 2 specific weapon names.

- It doesn't refers to any family, because the name is singular, and both weapons are in the same family ( club ).

- Druid is not trained in monk weapons, so it is reasonable that a druid spell is meant, especially when specified, to only target possible druid weapons.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Legal shillelagh targets All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.