soundstriker duettist shennanigans


Rules Questions


I just discovered the spell songbird.

School conjuration (good); Level bard 1, cleric 1, mesmerist 1, paladin 1, psychic 1, sorcerer/wizard 1

CASTING

Casting Time 1 swift action
Components S

EFFECT

Range personal
Target you
Duration 1 round

DESCRIPTION

You conjure uplifting music from the wilds of Elysium, Heaven, or Nirvana to bolster other musical activities.

If you cast songbird during the same round in which you attempt a Perform check, songbird acts as accompaniment and grants a +3 bonus on that Perform check.

If you cast songbird in the same round in which you activate a bardic performance, that round of bardic performance does not count against your total rounds of bardic performance available for the day.

If you cast songbird in the same round in which you cast a spell with the sonic descriptor, that spell’s save DC increases by 1.

If I use my swift action to vast songbird on my improved familiar, a Lyrakein azata, and then it uses weird words...using saying 3 words, would normally take 6 rounds of performance, but with the spell active that round... it would cost... zero rounds? Thats my understanding here... thoughts? Alternatively.... i could shout my own words, then have it sing inspire courage for zero rounds used?


or.... i could get a wand, use my standard to cast it, use my move for my own performance, have her yell some words, while i then buff the group....


The spell seems to only effect the round of bardic performance lost by starting it as a standard action, and doesn’t mention any other sort of rounds of bardic performance lost by other means (because they don’t exist outside of archetypes, and archetype-specific consequences are never thought through by devs).

In spirit, the purpose of this LEVEL 1 spell is clearly not to give you an ability that deals 4d6 through 20d6 damage and runs on “times per day” of a level 1 spell, using up 0 bardic performance rounds.

Talk to your GM, doubt there’s any other RAW on this.


If you cast songbird in the same round in which you activate a bardic performance, that round of bardic performance does not count against your total rounds of bardic performance available for the day. would have no function if not removing the use of bardic performance. I agree it might be "broken" but it is not banned in pfs and i believe RAW it would work, which is where my curiosity comes in, because this IS for a pfs legal character.

Even if i could only use it for myself, thats still 6 more words i could currently yell a day with out spending a round.... then theres the issue of combining with lingering performance for the normal performances...


Evilserran wrote:
If you cast songbird in the same round in which you activate a bardic performance, that round of bardic performance does not count against your total rounds of bardic performance available for the day.

The bolded text makes me think it's only 1 round that gets negated. At best it'd be a GM discretion deal, at worst it just doesn't work the way you think it does.

Not saying you're definitely wrong, just that you're not definitely right.

If you're using your own spell-slots I can't see the problem with it, you're using one resource to gain another resource. If you're using a wand it becomes a bit more unbalanced and feels like you're gaming the system.


hm yea, i can kind of see your point. id still be okay with the single round, as a soundstriker tho, because my 39 rounds of bardic performance, just sometimes, arent eniugh...


Evilserran wrote:
...would have no function if not removing the use of bardic performance.

It does have function, it saves you the 1 round of starting the performance......

And lingering performance wouldn’t have any effect on the weird words performance itself, so hopefully that’s not what you’re meaning...


The first sticking point is that the familiar doesn’t have rounds of performance, so can’t get that benefit. Instead, the familiar performs and then the master just loses 2 rounds of performance.


@RAWmonger no i was referring to using weird words, casting the spell on my familiar, having it use weird words, and then doing my group performace like inspire courage or blazing rondo. If i can get in range to use weird words next round, or i find the need to do something else, then the lingering persists for that one.

@Melkiador actually that makes a very valid point.... but by that standard then, i can still use it to save my own weird words worth of performances, which is currently 3... and then i'd do the group buff at teh end instead...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / soundstriker duettist shennanigans All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.