Assisted Recovery

Rules Discussion

Assisted Recovery ...

How does this work ? Say the person is on fire and someone throws a waterskin over him. Does this grant the burning PC ...
1) an immediate DC 15 flat check before you take damage
2) a bonus to your end of round save with improved recovery DC 10
3) both ?

You can take steps to help yourself recover from persistent damage, or an ally can help you, allowing you to attempt an additional flat check before the end of your turn. This is usually an activity requiring 2 actions, and it must be something that would reasonably improve your chances (as determined by the GM). For example, you might try to smother a flame, wash off acid, or use
Medicine to Administer First Aid to stanch bleeding. This allows you to attempt an extra flat check immediately.
The GM decides how your help works, using the following examples as guidelines.
• Reduce the DC of the flat check to 10 for a particularly appropriate type of help, such as dousing you in water to put out flames.
• Automatically end the condition due to the type of help, such as healing that restores you to your maximum HP to end persistent bleed damage, or submerging yourself in a lake to end persistent fire damage.
• Alter the number of actions required to help you if the means the helper uses are especially efficient or remarkably inefficient.

Suppose your teammate is on fire, taking 1d6 persistent fire damage. At the end of his turn, he rolls 1d6 for the fire damage and then rolls a d20 to check for the effect going out, flat DC 15.

If you make a plain assisted recovery, saying, "I spend two actions for assisted recovery to help him put out the fire," then your teammater gains an additional, immediate d20 check, flat DC 15, to end the persistent damage. This is also the case if you describe your action in more detail but don't have a good method, "I pat out the fire with my gloved hands."

If you make an assisted recovery well designed to end the persistent damage, "I spend two actions for assisted recovery by pulling out my waterskin and dousing the fire," then your teammate gains an additional, immediate d20 check, flat DC 10, to end the persistent damage. The DC is lower due to the good solution.

Some assisted recovery attempts are guaranteed to work. "I make an assisted recovery attempt to douse the fire by pushing him into the river."

And the teammate can make his own assisted recovery attempt on himself. "I make an assisted recovery attempt by an Interact action to remove my burning cloak." Still DC 15 to succeed, because maybe the fire is not just on the cloak, but I would count that as a 1-action assisted recovery rather than a 2-action one. Or if he says, "I stop, drop, and roll," I would give him DC 10 after a 2-action assisted recovery, but point out that he is prone afterwards.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Assisted Recovery All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.