Fire kineticist Magus


Rules Questions


Would a Magus be able to cast fire blast using spell combat if it took close range as an arcana?

Obviously with levels in kineticist too.


No, you can only use magus spells with spell combat without broad study,l. Even then it's only usable with spells, not spell like abilities.


I think you actually could do that, but other way around: take kinetic blade and you could use it with spell combat to make an attack with it and also cast an actual spell.
I'm not sure if it is viable though

Grand Lodge

Here's what Occult Adventures has to say about it:

Quote:
Kinetic Blade... You form a weapon using your kinetic abilities. You create a non-reach, light or one-handed weapon in your hand formed of pure energy or elemental matter.

So yes, you could do spell combat with a Kinetic Blade.

The problem with this is: why would you? The Kineticist is a class that really suffers from dilution (like 9th level casters).

The Exchange

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Egil Firehair wrote:

Here's what Occult Adventures has to say about it:

Quote:
Kinetic Blade... You form a weapon using your kinetic abilities. You create a non-reach, light or one-handed weapon in your hand formed of pure energy or elemental matter.

So yes, you could do spell combat with a Kinetic Blade.

The problem with this is: why would you? The Kineticist is a class that really suffers from dilution (like 9th level casters).

That’s not right. Kinetic blast is a standard action, you cannot combine it with the full round action of spell combat.


Kinetic blade can be used with an attack action or a full attack action as well. Spell combat references the full attack.


Kinetic blade could be a touch attack, so that could be slightly tempting to the magus. Maybe a 1 level dip of kinetic knight, so it doesn’t use burn. I don’t think it’d be the most optimal option, but it wouldn’t be bad.


I'm not sure you can combine kinetic blade with spell combat RAW. It call out specific actions with which you can use the blade infusion "You can use this form infusion once as part of an attack action, a charge action, or a full-attack action in order to make melee attacks with your kinetic blade."

I'd allow it cause I don't think it is against the intent, but spell combat is it's own full round action. There is some confusion about whether things that work specifically with a full attack work with spell combat.


Quote:

Magus, Spell Combat: Does spell combat count as making a full attack action for the purpose of haste and other effects?

Yes.

Edit 9/9/13: This is a revised ruling about how haste interacts with effects that are essentially a full attack, even though the creature isn't specifically using the full attack action (as required by haste). The earlier ruling did not allow the extra attack from haste when using spell combat.


^ I agree that this should apply, but I've had people argue against similar "effects" being covered by this FAQ. Hence why I said some confusion and not that it simply didn't work.

Thank you avr for posting the associated FAQ.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Fire kineticist Magus All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.