COM Mystic Solar Manifestation + Solarian Solar Manifestation.


Rules Questions


6 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Starfinder Superscriber

I'm pretty sure that this isn't intentional, but, it looks like, if you want two solar manifestations (say, Sword + Shield), and have them both active, you don't have to wait until 9th level + full atunement.

A one level dip in Mystic can get you...

Quote:

You have forged a connection to the powers of the cosmos,

drawing upon a link to photons and gravity to forge a weapon
made from the primal stuff of the universe. You gain a solar
weapon, as the solar manifestation ability of a solarian with a
class level equal to your mystic level. If you have levels in both
classes, you add them together to determine the effectiveness
of your solar weapon. You do not gain any other solar-weapon
focused solarian abilities from mystic class levels.

It looks like, as long as your solarian manifestation from actual solarian levels is something other than weapon, you get both.

I don't think this is intentional. FAQ? or am I missing something in the RAW?


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

I expect the intent was for levels of solarian with a solar weapon to stack with mystic levels for the scaling of that weapon... but there aren't any rules written to that effect in the finished product.


I don't see anything preventing it, and I'm sure it's not intended. Probably needs some language on the Mystic side that if you take Solarion levels later you must choose the weapon at level 1, and that if you take Mystic after Solarion levels you can't choose that ephiphany except to combine levels for advancement of your preexisting Solarion choice. But that would be a mess to edit in.


And hey, there's no language to stop you from manifesting two solar weapons, right? Wouldn't be beneficial, like at all, but it would look cool as hell.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

This is the loop hole for my green lantern! Thank you!

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

hmm i would allow the mystic solar weapon, solarian solar shield :) if for no other reason then theme


The way I'd rule it is that you can choose, say, Solar Armor as a Solarian if you've already taken Solar Connection as a Mystic, but your Mystic and Solarian levels would not stack when considering either manifestation. Let's say, for example, we have a 2 Solarian/3 Mystic.

If the manifestation chosen with the Solarian levels was Solar Armor, then they'd be able to manifest armor as a Level 2 Solarian and a Solar Weapon as a Level 3 Solarian.

If the manifestation chosen with the Solarian levels was Solar Weapon, then they could manifest it was a Level 5 Solarian.

Make sense?


Ventnor wrote:

The way I'd rule it is that you can choose, say, Solar Armor as a Solarian if you've already taken Solar Connection as a Mystic, but your Mystic and Solarian levels would not stack when considering either manifestation. Let's say, for example, we have a 2 Solarian/3 Mystic.

If the manifestation chosen with the Solarian levels was Solar Armor, then they'd be able to manifest armor as a Level 2 Solarian and a Solar Weapon as a Level 3 Solarian.

If the manifestation chosen with the Solarian levels was Solar Weapon, then they could manifest it was a Level 5 Solarian.

Make sense?

That seems more the intent of the abilities but that is not RAW. This may be a "depends on your table" thing. As a DM I would allow RAW unless there is an errata. My players like thinking they pull one over on me :)


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Garrett Larghi wrote:
This is the loop hole for my green lantern! Thank you!

In brightest day,

In blackest night.
No evil shall escape my SUPER AWESOME GIANT HAMMER AND SNIPER RIFLE MADE OF ENERGY!


Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

A further extension of this question would be regarding the Extra Manifestation ability. With Solar Connection and 9th level Solarian, would you be able to have 3 solar manifestations when fully attuned? It would look pretty awesome with a sword, shield, and armor.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / COM Mystic Solar Manifestation + Solarian Solar Manifestation. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.