Suli samurai able to take craft magic arms?


Rules Questions


So I was using hero Forge to create a suli samurai and it let me take craft magic arms and armor at level 5. However I am a samurai so unless there is something about Suli using their character level as a caster level I don't understand why that works. Does it?


I wouldn’t think so. Neither the race or the class give you a caster level. I guess Hero Forge doesn’t check for that prerequisite?


Speaker for the Dead wrote:
I wouldn’t think so. Neither the race or the class give you a caster level. I guess Hero Forge doesn’t check for that prerequisite?

It does. For instance you cannot take any style feat without taking improved unarmed strike so it checks both your class tab and feat tab first. So I'm not sure where it is getting this idea that a Suli samurai of level 5 has 5 caster levels.

It's not really gonna effect the playstyle for this character but more the downtime RP and support roles I intended for him. So I'm just trying to check my facts before trying to toss this at the DM, who's a newer DM.


Well neither gives a caster level so it's an error. You should toss it out the window before you toss it at your DM


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Yes, the samurai can. However, not inherently; it requires Master Craftsman (Craft [Weapons]) first.


It's probably a faulty database thing, that gives them a caster level via the elemental assault ability (which is SU, and thus probably has a caster level by default in their system...)


Dragonchess Player wrote:
Yes, the samurai can. However, not inherently; it requires Master Craftsman (Craft [Weapons]) first.

In reference to that feat, does that last little bit mean I can't technically enchant it with something like flaming?

For now I'm looking at playing an elemental knight (magus) but if I can make the samurai work that would be awesome.

Also I think you're right. I emailed the support team for hero lab about the error as well as the fact that the system likes to retroactively grant additional skill points if someone's intelligence goes up to a new bonus at lvl 5.


You get retroactive skill points when your intelligence increases permanently (you also increase an ability score by +1 every 4 levels, so 5 wouldn't be a stat bump), they changed this from 3.5.

Permanent Bonuses: Ability bonuses with a duration greater than 1 day actually increase the relevant ability score after 24 hours. Modify all skills and statistics related to that ability. This might cause you to gain skill points, hit points, and other bonuses. These bonuses should be noted separately in case they are removed.


willuwontu wrote:

You get retroactive skill points when your intelligence increases permanently (you also increase an ability score by +1 every 4 levels, so 5 wouldn't be a stat bump), they changed this from 3.5.

Permanent Bonuses: Ability bonuses with a duration greater than 1 day actually increase the relevant ability score after 24 hours. Modify all skills and statistics related to that ability. This might cause you to gain skill points, hit points, and other bonuses. These bonuses should be noted separately in case they are removed.

Yeah I meant level 4 but either way I guess I missed that part. I didn't think you got retroactive bumps to health/skills/etc.

So going from 15 to 16 int/con at level four would not you a bump of 4 more skill/health points. Interesting.

Anyway, thanks for all the help thus far. I think after my question about Master Craftsman is answered we can conclude this thread.


A samurai with Master Craftsman and Craft Magic Arms and Armor can absolutely make a weapon with the flaming property. Since they probably don't have access to fireball, flame blade, or flame strike, though, the DC to craft the item would be 5 higher than normal to account for a missing prerequisite. Alternately, the samurai could get their spellcasting friend to supply the spell each day during crafting and avoid the DC increase.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

^ What blaphers said.

On the plus side when going the Master Craftsman route: It's easier to get bonuses to the Craft (Weapons) check than it is to get bonuses to a Spellcraft check. Master Craftsman itself gives a +2; masterwork artisan's tools are only 55 gp (or a traveler's any-tool is 250 gp); a friendly spellcaster, even if they don't supply the required spell for the magic item, can just cast crafter's fortune (or a custom 1/day command word magic item that takes up a slot is only 360 gp); etc.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Suli samurai able to take craft magic arms? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.