Dwarf alchemist mixologist questions


Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion


I had an idea to create a dwarf brewer/professional drinker and discovered the alchemist mixologist archetype. It doesn't seem very potent (pardon the pun), but it looks fun and fits the theme I had in mind.

It references rules about intoxication I cannot find. Are the rules in the SRD? If not, where are they?

I also had a question about the level 14 power, "Mixologist Master." It reads, "At 14th level, a mixologist can have up to two alcoholic extracts for each level of extracts he can prepare as long as he can prepare at least two extracts of that level."

Perhaps I'm not thinking clearly (again with the puns), but I read that two ways. It could mean that you get double the extracts . . . So, for example, at level 14 you can prepare and cast/consume 5 level 1 extracts per day, but with this power you could do 10 per day? That seems rather potent.

Or it could mean that you can combine two extracts into one as an action economy enhancer. For example, you could prepare a single extract that gives the effect of both Barkskin and Bear's Endurance in a single gulp. If that's the case, does it use 1 or 2 of your extracts per day? This language is confusing to me.

If anyone has played this archetype (or something similar), I'd be grateful for any other advice on how to make a fun alcoholic dwarf brewmaster.


Critical Fumble wrote:
I also had a question about the level 14 power, "Mixologist Master." It reads, "At 14th level, a mixologist can have up to two alcoholic extracts for each level of extracts he can prepare as long as he can prepare at least two extracts of that level."

It doesn't do either of the things you thinknit does.

This archetype has a allows you to enhance some of your extracts jn a specific way (increase the CL by 1, xounts as a strong alcoholic drink, takes 2 minutes to prepare). You can't do this to all of your extracts, only "1 per level that you can prepare".

So let's say your fourth level alchemist can prepare 4 level one extracts and 2 level two extracts. You can decide to make up to 1 of your level one extracts an alcoholic extract and up to 1 of your level two extracts an alcoholic extract. This would leave you with 3 normal level one extracts and 1 normal level two extract. You don't get any extras.

At level 14 you dou le the number of extracts that you can enhance - 2 first level, 2 second level, 2 third level, 2 fourth level and 2 fifth level (and when you reach level 16 you can enhance 2 of your sixth level extracts).


MrCharisma wrote:
Critical Fumble wrote:
I also had a question about the level 14 power, "Mixologist Master." It reads, "At 14th level, a mixologist can have up to two alcoholic extracts for each level of extracts he can prepare as long as he can prepare at least two extracts of that level."

It doesn't do either of the things you thinknit does.

This archetype has a allows you to enhance some of your extracts jn a specific way (increase the CL by 1, xounts as a strong alcoholic drink, takes 2 minutes to prepare). You can't do this to all of your extracts, only "1 per level that you can prepare".

So let's say your fourth level alchemist can prepare 4 level one extracts and 2 level two extracts. You can decide to make up to 1 of your level one extracts an alcoholic extract and up to 1 of your level two extracts an alcoholic extract. This would leave you with 3 normal level one extracts and 1 normal level two extract. You don't get any extras.

At level 14 you dou le the number of extracts that you can enhance - 2 first level, 2 second level, 2 third level, 2 fourth level and 2 fifth level (and when you reach level 16 you can enhance 2 of your sixth level extracts).

Oh, ok, thanks! I totally read that wrong! Makes sense now. Although I wish it was the other way I read it...it’s not very strong as is.

Anyone have any other advice for a beer brewing and guzzling dwarf? I still like the concept.


There's a PrC you might like, the brewkeeper. I'd suggest entering as a full spellcaster rather than an alchemist - an amnesiac psychic (psychedelia discipline?) could be funny, or a cleric of Cayden Cailean could work well.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / Dwarf alchemist mixologist questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.