Caustoject and Caustolance


Rules Questions


So the new Small Arm Caustoject series is an EAC targeting Injection weapon, Nice!

It has the description of the following:

Quote:
Much of the design of this pistol-like weapon is based off the biological systems of the disintegration lash class of small arms (Armory 36), though a caustoject’s more traditional appearance is in stark contrast to its techno-organic inspiration. Caustojects create an injectable field that transforms ordinary matter into an acidic compound, disintegrating their targets from the inside. Syringes can be loaded into these weapons, allowing other materials to be quickly injected instead of an acidic discharge (in which case only the injection effect occurs—no acid damage is dealt).

So if a Biohacker wanted to use an Inhibitor (or any poison/medicine/drug that can be used with an injection weapon) while firing this weapon, it would deal no weapon damage? That is unfortunate.

Does it still target EAC, even though it's not dealing any Energy damage when used in this way?

What if you doubletapped with it, one ammo firing the desired injection, one firing the Acid?

And then following up is its cousin, the Caustolance:

Quote:
Drawing upon the same design and inspirations as the caustoject, this larger weapon is designed to resemble an assault rifle rather than a pistol. As with its smaller cousin, a caustolance uses its battery to generate an acidic field to inject directly into its targets, but it can also handle and discharge other substances that are poured into a special tank that is attached to the weapon’s barrel.

This doesn't state that it doesn't deal Acid damage when used with an inject-able item. We can infer that it probably shouldn't if the ject doesn't, but it doesn't state that.


Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I can't really answer the deeper question here, since it goes to intent. Nonetheless, I'd give the following answers to other questions:

1. EAC? Yes. Its consistent across the rules that, if an attack targets KAC or EAC, changing the damage type via an external means does not change the targeted AC. I see no reason to break this rule for an attack being changed to not do damage at all.

2. Double Tap? Double tap says you use double the ammo. Biohacks are not ammo. Using the Double Tap feat would have you doing a single attack, that may apply a biohack if you choose, but it only uses a single biohack usage. . . because it is a single usage of that ability. The doubled needle ammo usage is what pays for the DT bonuses. The same would apply with stuff like Overcharge Weapon or any other ability that effects an attack. Double Tap enhances an attack, it doesn't make it two attacks.


Metaphysician wrote:
2. Double Tap? Double tap says you use double the ammo. Biohacks are not ammo. Using the Double Tap feat would have you doing a single attack, that may apply a biohack if you choose, but it only uses a single biohack usage. . . because it is a single usage of that ability. The doubled needle ammo usage is what pays for the DT bonuses. The same would apply with stuff like Overcharge Weapon or any other ability that effects an attack. Double Tap enhances an attack, it doesn't make it two attacks.

I agree it uses up 2 usages worth of your battery.

I yield that mechanically, it doesn't matter what you load into it, it just uses up two uses of whatever ammo it's using and does it's thing.

However In the case of Biohacks (or really any situation where it matters what ammo you use) doubletap consuming twice the ammo can make some questions happen.

This is going off topic a bit now, but lets say you loaded up a Needler Pistol with 6 doses Blue Whinnis poison and the used double tap with it. Are you completely wasting one of your doses of Blue Whinnis? Or do they get exposed twice upon a hit? Would it make more sense to load every other needle in the gun with the poison if you're going to Double Tap?


Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Well, getting the chance to expose the target twice would be broken as hell, so that one is out. I lean to "waste a dose", unless the PC loads a mix of needles. Which I would allow, note.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Caustoject and Caustolance All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions