When something applies a penalty to all your DCs, does that include your AC?


Rules Discussion


Title. I ask because certain conditions say "penalty to your dex DCs, including your AC", but if something says it is a penalty(or bonus) to ALL my DCs, generically, does that include AC? So for example, the Frightened condition affects AC?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Armor Class is defined as the DC to hit a target so, unless it says it's not affected by penalties to "all DCs" somewhere I've overlooked, I would say yes.

Sovereign Court

Yeah, and as a consequence using Intimidate to shout "boo!" at people makes them slightly easier to hit for a short time.

Which is a great use of a third action, or actually, do this before you make your strikes!


Asked the question in a vacuum, I never would have included AC as a DC, but based on the wording of the rules in the initial post it definitely seems like I'm wrong.


Claxon wrote:
Asked the question in a vacuum, I never would have included AC as a DC, but based on the wording of the rules in the initial post it definitely seems like I'm wrong.

It was also clarified as affecting AC during the playtest. The wording was (supposedly) adjusted to make this more clear.


It does say so in the first paragraph of the armor section of the book, so there is that, though I suppose it could have been clarified further by just calling it "Armor DC" or "Attack DC" or something


ofMars wrote:
It does say so in the first paragraph of the armor section of the book, so there is that, though I suppose it could have been clarified further by just calling it "Armor DC" or "Attack DC" or something

The phrase "difficulty class" was named to mimic "armor class", which predates it by a lot.


Baarogue wrote:
ofMars wrote:
It does say so in the first paragraph of the armor section of the book, so there is that, though I suppose it could have been clarified further by just calling it "Armor DC" or "Attack DC" or something
The phrase "difficulty class" was named to mimic "armor class", which predates it by a lot.

This is true, but given the streamlining goals, it might have still clarified to turn it around

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / When something applies a penalty to all your DCs, does that include your AC? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.