Globe of Invulnerability and Dispel Magic


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game, Companion, Maps, Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

The Globe of Invulnerability spell says like Minor Globe except it stops 4th level spells.

Minor Globe says it can be dispelled by Dispel Magic. It does not make sense to me that a Globe that will stop 4th level spells can be undone by a 3rd level spell. What makes sense to me is that it would take Greater Dispel Magic.

Any advice on this?

Thanks


Unless it specifies it requires Greater Dispel, it doesn't.

You can use regular Dispel Magic to dispel a 9th level spell. Why not a 4th?

Specifically, it starts with the highest level spell (technically highest caster level, but generally that's also the highest spell level).

"Targeted Dispel: One object, creature, or spell is the target of the dispel magic spell. You make one dispel check (1d20 + your caster level) and compare that to the spell with highest caster level (DC = 11 + the spell’s caster level). If successful, that spell ends. If not, compare the same result to the spell with the next highest caster level. Repeat this process until you have dispelled one spell affecting the target, or you have failed to dispel every spell."


I recommend disabusing yourself of the notion that higher level spells cannot be negated by lower level spells. That isn't how the magic system works in Pathfinder outside of some specifically called out cases (magical light and darkness being the most notorious). Dispel magic can shut down the vast majority of non-instantaneous spells in the game given a sufficiently high dispel check.

A globe of invulnerability excludes 4th-level and lower spells from its area. It does nothing to protect itself from being targeted by dispel magic, much like a wall of stone covering a wizard from being targeted by ranged spells does nothing to protect itself from being targeted.

Shikaku Kyouryuu wrote:
Specifically, it starts with the highest level spell (technically highest caster level, but generally that's also the highest spell level).

Alternately, the caster of dispel magic can specifically target globe of invulnerability (rather than whatever the highest level spell is) so long as they can name that spell.

Sovereign Court

Shem wrote:

The Globe of Invulnerability spell says like Minor Globe except it stops 4th level spells.

Minor Globe says it can be dispelled by Dispel Magic. It does not make sense to me that a Globe that will stop 4th level spells can be undone by a 3rd level spell. What makes sense to me is that it would take Greater Dispel Magic.

Any advice on this?

Thanks

I think the issue might be that you overlooked that the lesser globe of invulnerability affects spells 3rd level and lower. And Dispel Magic is a 3rd level spell. So if it was a level issue only, then it could not be dispelled by dispel magic. However, lesser globe calls out that Dispel Magic can affect it. The full globe inherits this.

There is nothing different between a full globe vs the lesser globe (other than the name, and DC) for Dispel.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Globe of Invulnerability and Dispel Magic All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.