Quickened Spell and Ring of Spell Storing


Rules Questions


Ring of Spell Storing casts spells at minimum caster level. So a Cure Light Wounds spell stored in the ring would heal 1d8+1 HP (CL1)

Quickened Cure Light Wounds is considered a 5th level spell, so does this mean that minimum caster level for it becomes 9 and therefore such CLW cures 1d8+5 HP?

Does it works the same way if spellcaster cast the spell using Quicken Metamagic Rod and does not even possess the feat?


It would be CL 9. Note that it would still take a standard action to cast.


A couple notes for clarification:

Default caster level for any magic item is the minimum caster level needed to cast the spell.

Magic items created by PCs or by NPCs at PC request can have higher caster levels based on the level of the actual caster, these must be noted as part of the magic item description on the PC's sheet. Cost of such items are factored at the new rate of the actual caster level.

Any metamagic feat consumes a higher than normal spell slot which requires a higher than normal minimum caster level when applied to any spell (a few feat combinations can play with this rule a bit under specific circumstances).

A metamagic rod cannot be used in conjunction with casting a spell as part of magic item creation

Quicken metamagic changes the action economy for casting the spell applied from 1 round, full round action, or standard action to swift action

Activating a magic item is a standard action

There are a handful of magic items that have a less than standard action requirement to activate, such as boots of speed which are a free action to activate, among others

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

The text of the ring of spell storing says that it cast the spell at minimum caster level, the caster level of the ring or the original caster has no effect on that.

If the ring has the space for a spell with a metamagic the caster level of the spell is the minimum needed to cast the spell at its modified spell level.


Thedmstrikes wrote:

A couple notes for clarification:

Default caster level for any magic item is the minimum caster level needed to cast the spell.

Magic items created by PCs or by NPCs at PC request can have higher caster levels based on the level of the actual caster, these must be noted as part of the magic item description on the PC's sheet. Cost of such items are factored at the new rate of the actual caster level.

Any metamagic feat consumes a higher than normal spell slot which requires a higher than normal minimum caster level when applied to any spell (a few feat combinations can play with this rule a bit under specific circumstances).

A metamagic rod cannot be used in conjunction with casting a spell as part of magic item creation

Quicken metamagic changes the action economy for casting the spell applied from 1 round, full round action, or standard action to swift action

Activating a magic item is a standard action

There are a handful of magic items that have a less than standard action requirement to activate, such as boots of speed which are a free action to activate, among others

Thanks, but I don't think ring's CL affects the spells stored in it.

Lelomenia wrote:
It would be CL 9. Note that it would still take a standard action to cast.

Damn, how did I miss that part. Oh, well.

Wonder if the spell counts as prepared or spontaneous in the ring, if original one is cast by spontaneous caster.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
DarkPhoenixx wrote:
Lelomenia wrote:
It would be CL 9. Note that it would still take a standard action to cast.

Damn, how did I miss that part. Oh, well.

Wonder if the spell counts as prepared or spontaneous in the ring, if original one is cast by spontaneous caster.

Neither, it is a magic item.


Diego Rossi wrote:
DarkPhoenixx wrote:
Wonder if the spell counts as prepared or spontaneous in the ring, if original one is cast by spontaneous caster.
Neither, it is a magic item.

Sweet.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Quickened Spell and Ring of Spell Storing All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.