Adding cantrips to the Sorcerer dedication


Rules Discussion


I have a player that has the sorcerer dedication on his rogue and he wants to learn more cantrips. He thinks that the errata allows him to do that, but it isn't clear to me that that is what it is allowing spontaneous dedication casters to do. Can he learn and add more cantrips to his repertoire and if so, how many?

Errata
"In the spellcasting dedication feats, you can prepare or add to your repertoire common cantrips of your spellcasting tradition, whether from this book or other
cantrips of that tradition you learn or discover"


That option occurs when he creates his repertoire: he can add common cantrips from any source and other cantrips he's discovered.
Then that's it. He's done. That's how a spell repertoire works.

Later, if he does want to learn new cantrips (whether discovered or simply common), he'd either have to take Cantrip Expansion or spend time to Retrain (essentially remolding that ability at its core).


Thanks, that's kind of what I was thinking it meant too. He could change a cantrip, not add more. I will point out Cantrip Expansion to him.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

As an rogue, he could also take Minor Magic to get 2 more cantrips.

Shadow Lodge

Wheldrake wrote:
As an rogue, he could also take Minor Magic to get 2 more cantrips.

Basic Blood Potency (Cantrip Expansion) is probably a better option (assuming you don't have other plans for Basic Blood Potency).


Taja the Barbarian wrote:
Wheldrake wrote:
As an rogue, he could also take Minor Magic to get 2 more cantrips.
Basic Blood Potency (Cantrip Expansion) is probably a better option (assuming you don't have other plans for Basic Blood Potency).

What's the difference, other than one being a second level class feat and the other being a fourth level class feat?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I know that if you take Minor Magic, those extra cantrips will be innate spells, getting no special Sorcerer love, as such. But I'm also unsure whether MC sorcerer dedication gives the kind of secondary effects that a straight sorcerer gets.

You could, of course, take both feats for even more cantrip variety.

Shadow Lodge

Thomas Keller wrote:
Taja the Barbarian wrote:
Wheldrake wrote:
As an rogue, he could also take Minor Magic to get 2 more cantrips.
Basic Blood Potency (Cantrip Expansion) is probably a better option (assuming you don't have other plans for Basic Blood Potency).
What's the difference, other than one being a second level class feat and the other being a fourth level class feat?

You presumably already spent your level 2 class feat taking the dedication, so they are both effectively level 4+ feats.

The main advantage is if get any further sorcerer class features, they will definitely work with all of your cantrips instead of just the two you get from the dedication.

Also, you might want to keep the rogue feat available for taking cantrips from another tradition.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Wheldrake wrote:
I know that if you take Minor Magic, those extra cantrips will be innate spells, getting no special Sorcerer love, as such. But I'm also unsure whether MC sorcerer dedication gives the kind of secondary effects that a straight sorcerer gets.

As innate spells, "You use your Charisma modifier as your spellcasting ability modifier" and "If your proficiency in spell attack rolls or spell DCs is expert or better, apply that proficiency to your innate spells, too" so there isn't much difference as you're using the same stat and proficiency bonus.


Taja the Barbarian wrote:
Thomas Keller wrote:
Taja the Barbarian wrote:
Wheldrake wrote:
As an rogue, he could also take Minor Magic to get 2 more cantrips.
Basic Blood Potency (Cantrip Expansion) is probably a better option (assuming you don't have other plans for Basic Blood Potency).
What's the difference, other than one being a second level class feat and the other being a fourth level class feat?
Quote:


You presumably already spent your level 2 class feat taking the dedication, so they are both effectively level 4+ feats.

Okay, that makes sense.

Quote:


The main advantage is if get any further sorcerer class features, they will definitely work with all of your cantrips instead of just the two you get from the dedication.

I can't make heads or tails of this. What "further...features"? And what do you mean "work with all your cantrips"?

Quote:


Also, you might want to keep the rogue feat available for taking cantrips from another tradition.

Shadow Lodge

Thomas Keller wrote:
Taja the Barbarian wrote:


The main advantage is if get any further sorcerer class features, they will definitely work with all of your cantrips instead of just the two you get from the dedication.

I can't make heads or tails of this. What "further...features"? And what do you mean "work with all your cantrips"?

If you later get an feat or magic item that applies to sorcerer spells only, it won't work with your innate spells from the Rogue feat.

Maybe there isn't such an effect right now, but the game is still new...


Taking Blood Potency also has the advantage of getting you closer to 3 feats from the archetype, which can let you take another archetype dedication later if you so choose. In situations where you get the same benefits from an archetype you already dedicated to and your own class's feats, it is usually better to fill out your archetype. For example, I built a wizard who multiclassed into sorcerer and used the archtype to get reach spell instead of the taking it in class.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Adding cantrips to the Sorcerer dedication All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.