Ending a rage while already fatigued

Rules Questions

The example:
Waves of Fatigue is cast on a barbarian, giving the character the fatigued condition. Then the barbarian ends their rage, adding a second instance of the fatigued condition but with a duration of X rounds.

The question:
How are multiple fatigued conditions applied when one is instantaneous/normal and the other has a short duration?

Quotes from https://aonprd.com/Rules.aspx?Name=Conditions&Category=Combat:
"If more than one condition affects a character, apply them all. If effects can’t combine, apply the most severe effect."
"A fatigued character becomes exhausted by doing something else that would normally cause fatigue."
"Doing anything that would normally cause fatigue causes the fatigued character to become exhausted."

The answer I want to be true:
The barbarian is exhausted for X rounds, then fatigued until they get 8 hours rest.

The answer that is probably true:
The barbarian is exhausted. After 1 hour of rest, they become fatigued until they get 8 hours rest.

The answer that I'm certain is wrong:
The barbarian is fatigued until they get 8 hours rest


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I would rule that barb is only exhausted until one of the fatigue effects run out. Ray of Exhaustion explicitly says that it ends when spell ends, but that seems to me the most logical way to handle fatigue effects with limited duration in general.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ending a rage while already fatigued All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.