Call ti Arms should probably be a free action.


Oracle Playtest

Liberty's Edge

As written it can’t be cast because it’s a reaction triggered before the Oracle acts in Encounter Mode.


Zeal's Weapon Surge Focus Spell is just more potent, I don't know why someone would opt into Call to Arms when that is an option.

Maybe if the Bonus to Initiative scaled instead of the Temp HP I might see it....

Dark Archive

Luke Styer wrote:
As written it can’t be cast because it’s a reaction triggered before the Oracle acts in Encounter Mode.

I think you've missed a part of the rules on this one

Quote:

Source Core Rulebook pg. 472

Your reactions let you respond immediately to what’s happening around you. The GM determines whether you can use reactions before your first turn begins, depending on the situation in which the encounter happens.

Given that the trigger is rolling initiative, it seems pretty clear that this is a time when the GM is meant to enable a pre-turn reaction.

Especially given

Quote:

Source Core Rulebook pg. 498

In some cases, a trap or a foe has a reaction that tells you to roll initiative. For instance, a complex trap that’s triggered might make an attack with its reaction before the initiative order begins. In these cases, resolve all the results of the reaction before calling for initiative rolls.

Paizo Employee Designer

3 people marked this as a favorite.

Though really, since you haven't technically gained a reaction to spend, it's not any different from a free action in this context. Now I'm wondering if I had another idea there or if it was just a typo in the glyph call.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Advanced Player’s Guide Playtest / Oracle Playtest / Call ti Arms should probably be a free action. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.