CRB Typos / Mistakes / Etc Post Errata 1.0


Rules Discussion

51 to 94 of 94 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

They outright say "increase the additional damage by...".


Rysky wrote:
They outright say "increase the additional damage by...".

Then read barbarian weapon specialization. It also mentions rage and says additional damage.

Is it additional additional damage? Or is it the same additional damage.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

It increases the damage you get while raging.

Fury for example, you get a base +2 for Raging, which goes up to +6 for Weapon Specialization and then +12 for Greater Weapon Specialization.


Staves gain charges equal to "the highest level spell you can cast". If you're a level 11 character who only knows cantrips, your cantrips are heightened to spell level 6, which means you can cast 6th level spells, even if you have no actual spell slots.

Is this correct? Are staves supposed to scale like this for anyone with cantrips?

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I’d say no but it might be possible as written.

That being said without a spell list you can’t actually use the spells from the staves.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Can you cast from a Staff that's been transformed by a Shifting rune?

If you transform a Shifting Staff into shield spikes, and attach them to your shield, can you cast from the staff while wielding the shield?

What if you turn the Shifting Staff into a gauntlet?


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

Unless I'm missing something, the Control Water spell has no duration - either for its water controlling effect or its slow effect on water traited creatures in the area.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

RAW, animal companions suffer a -4 penalty to Intimidate at all times, due to not sharing a language, even if they take the Bully specialization, or are trained in Intimidate. This also applies to any monsters that do not speak any language. This is both unintuitive, and easily overlooked. Is this intended?


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Not sure if this has been addressed elsewhere, but...

errata wrote:

wizard

Pages 204 and 206: Wizards gain their first class feat at 2nd level. On page 204, in Table 3-18: Wizard Advancement, remove “wizard feat” from the 1st-level entry. On page 206, in the Wizard Feats section, change the first sentence to “At 2nd level and every even-numbered level thereafter, you gain a wizard class feat.”

Okay, I get that. Except...

CRB page 209 wrote:

Universalist Wizards


You gain an extra wizard class feat, and you add one 1st-level spell of your choice to your spellbook.

So does a Universalist Wizard get a wizard class feat at level 1, or not? If not, does he get an extra wizard class feat at some other level? If at some other level, which one?

Seems like the Universalist still gets a class feat at level one, but I dunno.


Strill wrote:
RAW, animal companions suffer a -4 penalty to Intimidate at all times, due to not sharing a language, even if they take the Bully specialization, or are trained in Intimidate. This also applies to any monsters that do not speak any language. This is both unintuitive, and easily overlooked. Is this intended?

To add page numbers the Demoralize rule in question is on Page 247. The Bear animal companion which is trained in Intimidate is on Page 215 and Bully is on Page 217


Strill wrote:
RAW, animal companions suffer a -4 penalty to Intimidate at all times, due to not sharing a language, even if they take the Bully specialization, or are trained in Intimidate. This also applies to any monsters that do not speak any language. This is both unintuitive, and easily overlooked. Is this intended?

Also not exclusive to animal companions. Wild bears would have this problem too.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

In page 586, the low-grade cold iron buckler has Hardness 3, HP 12, and BT 6, twice as much HP and BT as the regular buckler in page 277, which has Hardness 3, HP 6, and BT 3. In the same page 586, the low-grade cold iron shield has Hardness 5, HP 20, and BT 10, the same as the regular steel shield from page 277 with its Hardness 5, HP 20, and BT 10.

I expect there was a typo on the stats of the low-grade cold iron buckler.


RAW, the Reach trait on Lances has no effect while riding a Large Warhorse, unless you have some way to extend the reach to 15ft. This is quite unintuitive.

p. 478 Mounted Attacks:
https://2e.aonprd.com/Rules.aspx?ID=463

"You occupy every square of your mount’s space for the purpose of making your attacks. If you were Medium and on a Large mount, you could attack a creature on one side of your mount, then attack on the opposite side with your next action. If you have a longer reach, the distance depends partly on the size of your mount. On a Medium or smaller mount, use your normal reach. On a Large or Huge mount, you can attack any square adjacent to the mount if you have 5- or 10-foot reach, or any square within 10 feet of the mount (including diagonally) if you have 15-foot reach."


Hustle (Exploration Activity)
"You strain yourself to move at double your travel speed. You can Hustle only for a number of minutes equal to your Constitution modifier × 10 (minimum 10 minutes)."

That doesn't make clear constraints/repurcussions of it's activity.
I believe intent this is cumulative limit (i.e. not necessarily all in one continuous usage),
and once this limit is reached you become Fatigued, which prevents further Exploration activities (of any kind)
until Fatigue is removed, which normally needs 6 hours rest but other means could potentially work.
(rest or other means of fatigue removal should probably also reset the expended duration to zero even if not yet Fatigued)


Quandary wrote:

Hustle (Exploration Activity)

"You strain yourself to move at double your travel speed. You can Hustle only for a number of minutes equal to your Constitution modifier × 10 (minimum 10 minutes)."

Also, minutes? Don't armies double-time it for like hours at a time?

(I mean, sure, it kills moral and your troops are fatigued, but even the average soldier can keep hustling long after that)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hustle is specific mechanic that lets you move TWICE as fast, when 15% faster could plausibly satisfy generalist usage of "hustling".
15% faster only needs to (game mechanic) Hustle 1 out of 6 minutes, thus CON mod X 10 minute limit -> CON mod X 60 minute (1 hour) limit.

Anyhow, if you think it's worth discussion, maybe start a separate thread to keep this one clean?
I posted it here because it's pretty straight forward and didn't think it would require any debate.

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber
Ed Reppert wrote:

Not sure if this has been addressed elsewhere, but...

errata wrote:

wizard

Pages 204 and 206: Wizards gain their first class feat at 2nd level. On page 204, in Table 3-18: Wizard Advancement, remove “wizard feat” from the 1st-level entry. On page 206, in the Wizard Feats section, change the first sentence to “At 2nd level and every even-numbered level thereafter, you gain a wizard class feat.”

Okay, I get that. Except...

CRB page 209 wrote:

Universalist Wizards


You gain an extra wizard class feat, and you add one 1st-level spell of your choice to your spellbook.

So does a Universalist Wizard get a wizard class feat at level 1, or not? If not, does he get an extra wizard class feat at some other level? If at some other level, which one?

Seems like the Universalist still gets a class feat at level one, but I dunno.

I'll lay it just for clarity!

Originally, it was printed that all Wizards got a bonus class feat at 1st level, regardless of their school or thesis choice.

This appeared to be in addition to any they would gain from various class options.

So, as originally printed, a 1st level Universalist Wizard would have had:
x2 Bonus Wizard Class Feats

This original printing was in error, and Wizard's were not intended to get a class feat at 1st level. This is regardless of school or thesis options, which all apply their effects.

Which means, as currently stated, a 1st level Universalist Wizard would have:
x1 Bonus Wizard Class Feat

A 1st level Wizard may still have more Wizard class feats, say if they are human or their thesis option grants them. But these have no real impact on overall feat allowance.

Hope this helped!


@all: Please, unless it's clear someone has missed something in the rules, this thread is meant to provide typos and areas in need of errata. Please don't offer your interpretations of rules here or debate on what rules *should* be.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The wording for Emanations is confusing, with incongruent phrasings that imply assumptions without clearly stating parameters.
To begin with, Emanation is subset of Area, which doesn't have target type restrictions and may have Range.

Quote:
An emanation issues forth from each side of your space, extending out to a specified number of feet in all directions. For instance, the bless spell’s emanation radiates 5 or more feet outward from the caster. Because the sides of a target’s space are used as the starting point for the emanation, an emanation from a Large or larger creature affects a greater overall area than that of a Medium or smaller creature. An emanation effect includes the target of the emanation, but the creature creating the effect can exclude the target if desired.

Emanation rules start out with phrasal assumption of targetting yourself, or otherwise Emanating from yourself.

It goes on to mention "sides of a target’s space are used as the starting point for the emanation", as well as "An emanation effect includes the target of the emanation, but the creature creating the effect can exclude the target if desired" which fairly establish that "you" isn't the only valid target, since it doesn't make sense to generically speak of "a target's space" or "the target of the emanation" if Emanations can only target "you". If "you" is intended to be only valid Emanation target, the phrasing could be tightened up to reflect that, and explicitly state that restriction.

Although it does tend to give impression only creatures are valid targets, as it's awkward to consider a location (or square) "having a space", it doesn't actually formally express that restriction. I don't see inherent reason why Emanations MUST only target creatures and not locations/squares, there could be valid applications of Emanation targetting a location... But if there is meant to be requirement that Emanations only target creatures, that should be explicitly stated. And the initial assumptive phrasing with "you" should be generalized to "target creature" (or "target creature or square" if that is allowed).

--------------------------------------------------------------------------- -----------------------

Relatedly, we have the spell Synaptic Pulse:

Quote:

Range 30 feet; Area 30-foot emanation Saving Throw Will; Duration 1 round

You emit a pulsating mental blast that penetrates the minds of all enemies in the area. Each creature in the area must attempt a Will save.

As written, it has a range, which could plausibly target a creature or a square. The problem with that is only the target of Emanation may be optionally excluded from the effect, and the Area radius equals the Range... So when targetting other creatures/squares within stated Range, the caster will always be within Area, and yet unable to exclude themselves from effect which seems weird.

That relates to further problem, that while 1st sentence references "all enemies in the area", the subsequent (mechanical) sentence states "each creature in the area" are affected (which would include the caster, as above, along with other allies). Changing it to only affect enemies would remove the problem with affecting the caster themself, but the spell could also work while targetting ALL creatures in area if it wasn't a Ranged target Emanation... but was just 30' Emanation from Caster ("you") with no Range entry. That may well be the intention, I can't say since multiple solutions seem potentially workable... Some of this depending on how Emanations function in general.


Raw P. 101 in Harmonize feat (bard) :
"... and you can cast another composition on the same turn as a harmonized one. Casting another harmonized composition ends any harmonized composition you have in effect"

As so far everyone seems to imply (from play tests) that casting another harmonized composition ends any normal or harmonized composition you have in effect, those sentences are misleading.
Last sentence should specify both types, and previous one should not end asking to screw yourself by casting a harmonized composition after a normal one (ex : replacing "as" by "after").
If those people are in the wrong (if words still have meaning), rules should be clearer too because as is, they came to that conclusion.


Virulent Afflications says:
You must succeed at two consecutive saves to reduce a virulent affliction’s stage by 1.
A critical success reduces a virulent affliction’s stage by only 1 instead of by 2

Is intent for CritSuccess to bypass two consecutive save requirement, or count as 2 consecutive saves?
As is, it seems functionally identical to normal Save, yet if intented for CritSuccess to be identical to normal Success why not directly say so?
Or state that one cannot Critically Succeed on a Virulent Affliction, instead of tweaking it's mechanics to "effectively" be equal to normal Success?


Reloading ranged weapons that use ammo is Interact action which has Manipulate trait. (meaning Grabbed imposes flat check to lose action)
Bows are special in that they have Reload 0, which means it has 0 Reload Interact actions with Manipulate trait.
So seemingly Bows can be freely reloaded and shot without any repurcussion of Manipulate trait, which seems weird.
(even Dropping/Releasing an item has Manipulate trait, albeit as Free action it could be repeated if failing Grab flat check)

Yet Reload 0 also says you "draw ammo" as part of attack, plausibly meaning attack counts as Interact/Manipulate (per Changing Equipment).
If this is the intent, i.e. attack is treated as a Draw or Reload Interact action with Manipulate trait, it seems that should be directly stated.
The current wording that removes all Interact actions doesn't explicitly convey any changes to the attack itself, which is very confusing.

EDIT: compare to Running Reload which is single action that explicitly includes "Interact to reload" rather than just saying you draw ammo as part of it.


Unconventional Weaponry (Human Ancestry Feat) fluff somewhat conflicts with rules text:
"potentially from another ancestry or culture" VS "Choose... weapon with a trait corresponding to an ancestry... or that is common in another culture"
Not so "potentially", as it is currently worded...

Relatedly, it feels irrationally limited to REQUIRE that weapon must be Uncommon.
This would be perfect for a Rogue who wants a Deity's Favored Weapon that is common Martial, like Starknife, but by RAW: no dice.

Weapon associations with Human cultures isn't currently so clear, although Cultural Weapon Familiarity Feats seem plausible...
(Viking Shieldbearer does give Ulfen plausible RAW cultural weaponry of longsword/battleaxe - no shield bash (martial) currently)

But it also seems reasonable to just explicitly enable Deity Favored Weapons as qualifying options,
since religion is treated distinctly from "culture" in game terms yet thematically is coherent and plausible.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Stunned and "Gaining and Losing Actions" Sidebar dont' seem like they are synched up 100%

Stunned wrote:
You’ve become senseless. You can’t act while stunned. Stunned usually includes a value, which indicates how many total actions you lose, possibly over multiple turns, from being stunned. Each time you regain actions (such as at the start of your turn), reduce the number you regain by your stunned value, then reduce your stunned value by the number of actions you lost.
Gaining and Losing Actions Sidebar wrote:

Quickened, slowed, and stunned are the primary ways you can gain or lose actions on a turn. The rules for how this works appear on page 462. In brief, these conditions alter how many actions you regain at the start of your turn; thus, gaining the condition in the middle of your turn doesn’t adjust your number of actions on that turn.

Some conditions prevent you from taking a certain subset of actions, typically reactions. Other conditions simply say you can’t act. When you can’t act, you’re unable to take any actions at all. Unlike slowed or stunned, these don’t change the number of actions you regain; they just prevent you from using them. That means if you are somehow cured of paralysis on your turn, you can act immediately.

While Stunned clearly directly states "you can't act while stunned", the sidebar CONTRASTS "slowed or stunned" with conditions that "simply say you can't act".

What happens if you become Stunned in the middle of your turn (from Reaction or Readied action or automatic effect)?
You immediately "can't act", so can't use remaining actions on your turn. Next round(s), the Stun value reduces some or all of your alloted actions.
Stun's claim the value "indicates how many total actions you lose, possibly over multiple turns" is inaccurate, since you in addition can lose action in remainder of turn you were stunned.
Likewise wrong is Sidebar claim "gaining the condition in the middle of your turn doesn’t adjust your number of actions on that turn".

It seems plausible Stunned could be rephrased so Stun value also negates remaining actions immediately when condition acquired, value carrying over to be applied next turn.
The Sidebar needs reworking because in it's current form Stun is spanning both categories so cannot serve as contrast as in second part of Sidebar I quoted.
I think ideally to avoid confusion it should be actively affirmed that Stunned is utilizing BOTH of these mechanics if that is the desired functionality.


If you are stunned 5 at the beginning of your turn, instead of gaining the usual three actions you gain 0 and you are stunned 2. You cannot act. Your next turn, you gain 1 action and you are no longer stunned. You can act.

The problem is "You cannot act while you are stunned". It's true, but it's not mechanically the same as other conditions which don't drain away like stun does.

I agree that it needs cleaning up.


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

"Stunned" takes effect at the beginning of your turn. So if something stuns you in the middle of your turn, it has no immediate effect. At the beginning of your next turn, you lose however many actions equates to the stunned value (unless it's more than 3, in which case you lose all three of your actions for that turn, and the remainder carries over to the turn after that).

That's one interpretation. The other is that at the instant you become stunned, "you can't act". If you were in the middle of an action, that action is aborted. Any remaining actions you might have taken in the current turn are lost. At the beginning of your next turn, you lose however many actions equates to the stunned value (unless it's more than 3, in which case you lose all three of your actions for that turn, and the remainder carries over to the turn after that).

The second is what the rules under "Stunned" on page 622 say. The former is what the sidebar "gaining and losing actions" on that same page says. Which interpretation is intended I can't say, but if I had to make a decision, I'd go with the second one, on the grounds that a sidebar should not overrule the basic rule.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The human feat Haughty Obstinancy provides benefits against coercion, but player characters are already immune to coercion.


Channel Smite is 2 action activity that allows making a melee Strike with Heal/Harm spell as bonus damage. Heal/Harm damage depends on number of actions used to cast it. The fact this is effect of Channel Smite which uses 2 actions is only direct evidence of how many actions should be used to determine Heal/Harm damage. Is 2-action Heal/Harm damage bonus intended, or is 1-action intended? Also, should Channel Smite activity have Somatic/Manipulate and Verbal traits? (as casting Heal/Harm)

--------------------------------

Both Warpriest and Cloistered Cleric get CritSpec with Favored Weapon (Cloistered just 4 levels later). Some CritSpec effects (Brawling) use a DC, which both Doctrines state uses Spell DC. Is it intended that Cloistered Clerics are stronger in this area than Warpriests, because of latter's lower Spell DC?


^ Sorry for 2-action thing, only relevant for healing not damage, so not ambiguous re: Channel Smite.

--------------------------------------------------------------------

Wilderness Spotter Feat allows using Survival for Init at all times in chosen Terrain, but it's wording heavily implies the normal baseline function of Survival allows it to used for Init *when Tracking*. That isn't mentioned in base skill or Tracking action, or in Initiative rules (which mention broad range of social skills without detail, yet misses Survival/Tracking despite it apparently being specific thing).

I wouldn't necessarily have thought Survival while Tracking was inherently justifiable to use for Initiative, so it seems worth explicitly mentioning it in normal rules where all players and GMs could make use of it. Just knowing this function can change value of Survival skill, and even motivate Tracking usage where it might not otherwise be strict priority.


Heavy barding gives a +3 item bonus to AC. Animal companions are limited to item bonuses to only AC and speed, however, the bonus to AC is capped at +2. While it's not completely out of the realm this isn't a mistake, it's certainly confusing (listed under "young animal companion") and seems like it was probably in error.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
tivadar27 wrote:
Heavy barding gives a +3 item bonus to AC.

This was errata'd in round 1.

UPDATE 1.0—RELEASE DATE 10/30/19 wrote:
Page 214: Under Young Animal Companions, add the sentence “An animal companion has the same level you do.” Change the maximum item bonus to AC from +2 to +3.


Copying my post from the other thread:

Rough Rider Goblin Feat: (https://2e.aonprd.com/Feats.aspx?ID=45)
"You are especially good at riding traditional goblin mounts. You gain the Ride feat, even if you don’t meet the prerequisites."

But the Ride feat has no prereqs.(https://2e.aonprd.com/Feats.aspx?ID=835)


The Splash Trait reads:

When you use a thrown weapon with the splash trait, you don’t add your Strength modifier to the damage roll. If an attack with a splash weapon fails, succeeds, or critically succeeds, all creatures within 5 feet of the target (including the target) take the listed splash damage. On a failure (but not a critical failure), the target of the attack still takes the splash damage. Add splash damage together with the initial damage against the target before applying the target’s weaknesses or resistances. You don’t multiply splash damage on a critical hit.

The third sentence:
"On a failure (but not a critical failure), the target of the attack still takes the splash damage."

Is redundant with the second sentence:
"If an attack with a splash weapon fails, succeeds, or critically succeeds, all creatures within 5 feet of the target (including the target) take the listed splash damage."


DemonicDem wrote:

Copying my post from the other thread:

Rough Rider Goblin Feat: (https://2e.aonprd.com/Feats.aspx?ID=45)
"You are especially good at riding traditional goblin mounts. You gain the Ride feat, even if you don’t meet the prerequisites."

But the Ride feat has no prereqs.(https://2e.aonprd.com/Feats.aspx?ID=835)

Ride requires level 1, so this could matter for NPC builds, even if never for PC builds (outside some "start at zero" campaign).


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
DemonicDem wrote:

Copying my post from the other thread:

Rough Rider Goblin Feat: (https://2e.aonprd.com/Feats.aspx?ID=45)
"You are especially good at riding traditional goblin mounts. You gain the Ride feat, even if you don’t meet the prerequisites."

But the Ride feat has no prereqs.(https://2e.aonprd.com/Feats.aspx?ID=835)

The other thread? Is there only one? :-)

If there were prerequisites, and the line was simply "You gain the ride feat", folks would argue that you don't gain it if you don't meet the prerequisites. The current wording accounts for the possibility that the ride feat might later gain some prereqs.

The Exchange

Sunrod entries on p292 and p554 are inconsistent (292 states dim light shed 20', 554 states dim light shed 40')


Ed Reppert wrote:
DemonicDem wrote:

Copying my post from the other thread:

Rough Rider Goblin Feat: (https://2e.aonprd.com/Feats.aspx?ID=45)
"You are especially good at riding traditional goblin mounts. You gain the Ride feat, even if you don’t meet the prerequisites."

But the Ride feat has no prereqs.(https://2e.aonprd.com/Feats.aspx?ID=835)

The other thread? Is there only one? :-)

If there were prerequisites, and the line was simply "You gain the ride feat", folks would argue that you don't gain it if you don't meet the prerequisites. The current wording accounts for the possibility that the ride feat might later gain some prereqs.

SO the wording is there in case they later errata Ride? It seems more likely that there were once considerations for having prerequisites for it and then they got nixed and this is hold over language that should be removed to avoid confusion. Unless it is about being able to use a wolf like animal for a mount in which case it needs to be made more specific.

Horizon Hunters

There are sorceror bloodlines (Fey, Imperial) who have bloodline magic buffs that can apply to themselves or another target. However the rule book does not give you any mechanic to apply these buffs to an ally other than to cast an attack or an enchantment effect on them or in their area. At our table we have used a range of touch but official clarification about this would be appreciated.


Tracker's Goggles does not list the type of bonus it grants.

>While wearing these goggles, you gain a +1 bonus to Survival checks to Sense Direction and Track.

Which means it can stack with a Coyote Cloak.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
DemonicDem wrote:

Tracker's Goggles does not list the type of bonus it grants.

>While wearing these goggles, you gain a +1 bonus to Survival checks to Sense Direction and Track.

Which means it can stack with a Coyote Cloak.

I suspect that the Tracker's Goggles are supposed to be a Circumstance Bonus, since it only helps with specific usages of the Survival skill, while the Coyote Cloak helps with all uses. For example, compare the benefit of an Animal Staff (+2 Circumstance bonus to Nature checks to identify animals) to Druid's Vestments (+2 Item bonus to Nature checks). So I don't think that the two stacking is a problem.


I was going to post that Voluntary Flaws needed errata until I dug in closer (based on sidebar placement, it appears to be part of Step 6 but it is really part of Step 3). I would suggest that a clarification be added to the beginning of the sidebar noting that it is part of Step 3 (from 2 pages earlier) - there's plenty of extra blank space in the sidebar.

Unless I'm misreading it, Retraining Skills as written allows one of the below two things it probably shouldn't (which one it allows depends on your reading of Retraining Skills):

1) If you look at the level where you gained the skill increase (as implied by the last paragraph under Retraining), you could potentially increase your current proficiency. Example, trained in Crafting and Occultism at creation, skill increase in Crafting at level 3, and skill increase in Occultism at level 5 - retraining level 3 increase to Occultism would net you Master in Occultism.

2) If you look at the current level (as implied by the Skills subsection of Retraining), it could allow you to get a skill increase before being trained in the skill. Example, trained in Occultism at creation, skill increase to Occultism at level 2, and trained in Crafting at level 3 (via Skill Training) - retraining level 2 to Crafting would net you Trained (only). Although, per the general rules on page 233, you should then be able to switch the Skill Training at level 3 to a different skill.

After typing that out, I think #2 is correct. It could just use some word-smithing for clarity.


Recall Knowledge likely needs text similar to Identify Magic preventing retry on a failure/in general.


tivadar27 wrote:
Recall Knowledge likely needs text similar to Identify Magic preventing retry on a failure/in general.

Sorry, this is apparently covered on page 506. So maybe just *also* have it with the skill check. Relevant text:

CRB p.506 wrote:

Additional Knowledge

Sometimes a character might want to follow up on a check
to Recall Knowledge, rolling another check to discover
more information. After a success, further uses of Recall
Knowledge can yield more information, but you should
adjust the difficulty to be higher for each attempt. Once a
character has attempted an incredibly hard check or failed
a check, further attempts are fruitless—the character has
recalled everything they know about the subject.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Fighter has Str or Dex as key attributes but Fighter Dedication requires Str *AND* Dex. Ranger has the same key attributes but requires only Dex for Ranger Dedication. Monk is another case where the key attributes are Str or Dex but Monk Dedication requires Str *AND* Dex. It would seem both should require Str or Dex.

Similarly, but possibly even more odd, Barbarian Dedication requires Str *AND* Con but Con is not even a key attribute for the Barbarian.

51 to 94 of 94 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / CRB Typos / Mistakes / Etc Post Errata 1.0 All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.