Strike Critical success confusion page 278 vs page 445


Rules Discussion


Another forum was debating this - but hoping for a Paizo clarification/errata....

https://www.reddit.com/r/Pathfinder2e/comments/cn0ngm/critical_hits_and_cri tical_failures_on_attack/

lets do an example: monster AC 26 your to hit is a +4 and you roll a natural 20..

Page 278: When you make an attack and roll a natural 20 (the number on the die is 20), or if the result of your attack exceeds the target’s AC by 10, you achieve a critical success (also known as a critical hit).

To me it seems like on an attack roll a 20, you hit and its a crit per page 278

but page 445 seems to contradicts this saying you need to exceed by 10.... its a normal hit, but not a crit.

Thoughts?

Shadow Lodge

Chapter 9: Playing the Game / General Rules / Checks / Step 4: Determine the Degree of Success

Step 4: Determine the Degree of Success wrote:

...

If you rolled a 20 on the die (a “natural 20”), your result is one degree of success better than it would be by numbers alone. If you roll a 1 on the d20 (a “natural 1”), your result is one degree worse. This means that a natural 20 usually results in a critical success and natural 1 usually results in a critical failure. However, if you were going up against a very high DC, you might get only a success with a natural 20, or even a failure if 20 plus your total modifier is 10 or more below the DC. Likewise, if your modifier for a statistic is so high that adding it to a 1 from your d20 roll exceeds the DC by 10 or more, you can succeed even if you roll a natural 1! If a feat, magic item, spell, or other effect does not list a critical success or critical failure, treat is as an ordinary success or failure instead.


Page 278 appears not to have been updated for the changes from the playtest, or perhaps just over-summarizes. Taja's quote is the relevant rule. Hopefully the errata/update document coming out today will change page 278.


ok, so there is a need for errata on page 278. Thanks.

Paizo - heres to hoping your monitoring your boards :-)


Doug Hood wrote:

ok, so there is a need for errata on page 278. Thanks.

Paizo - heres to hoping your monitoring your boards :-)

I think they try to monitor everything for errata, but this one has been reported in a thread they definitely check.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Strike Critical success confusion page 278 vs page 445 All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.