How do you calculate Save DCs for Monster Abilities?


Rules Discussion


As the title. For example, a Skeleton Guard's Explosive Death trait deals damage to adjacent creatures and requires a Basic Reflex Save.

I'm not sure how to calculate the DC of the save. I'm sure I have missed the rules for this somewhere...

Thanks for any help!!
Romans 5:8


DCs are normally based on level, or their ability/spell DC if they already have one.


Here are the monster rules Link


Ediwir wrote:
DCs are normally based on level, or their ability/spell DC if they already have one.

Hi! Can you cite the reference for the rules you speak of?


http://2e.aonprd.com/Rules.aspx?ID=554


Ediwir wrote:
http://2e.aonprd.com/Rules.aspx?ID=554

So, an ability like Explosive Death is considered a Skill...I didn't know that, thank you!


Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Oedii wrote:
Ediwir wrote:
http://2e.aonprd.com/Rules.aspx?ID=554
So, an ability like Explosive Death is considered a Skill...I didn't know that, thank you!

It's not considered a skill, rather, the fact that all math in the game works off of the proficiency system allows DCs to be pretty universally level appropriate, whether applied to saves, skill checks, etc.

That said, it would probably be better to go by the monster creation rules, but even that's missing explicit guidelines for setting the DCs of non-spell abilities. Looking at the Bestiary though, it seems that the intended guideline is to use the level appropriate High Spell DC.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / How do you calculate Save DCs for Monster Abilities? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.