Home Campaign Mode: Must, May, Cannot


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories, Pawns, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Is there a document or web page that clearly describes how to run PFS games in Campaign mode?

I'm considering switching my home game to be Society legal, but I can't find clear guidelines for what I Must do, May do, and Cannot do to keep it PFS rules compliant.

The Exchange 4/5

there is APs and modules that you can do in home mode.there is a list somewhere but not sure where
from the season 10 guide
Campaign Mode: Campaign mode is intended to allow
a group to experience adventure content in the manner
most enjoyable to the player, even if it is not within the
normal bounds of Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild
rules. Campaign mode is available for all sanctioned
Adventure Paths and for Pathfinder Modules that
specifically include this option in their sanctioning
documents. In Campaign mode, GMs can use their own
rules for character creation and running the presented
content (the entire book or series). They are not even
required to use the Pathfinder RPG rules, but they must
run the adventure using a tabletop roleplaying game
and use the Adventure Path or Pathfinder Module as the
primary source for adventure content.
After running a game in Campaign Mode, the GM
should report sessions on paizo.com as usual and distribute
Chronicle sheets to her players. A player may apply the
earned Chronicle sheets to an appropriate Roleplaying Guild
character in-tier for the Chronicle Sheet. Alternatively, they
may use the sheet to create a new character. This is similar
to applying credit to a pregenerated character (see Applying
Credit on page 7), except that players can apply Campaign
mode credit to characters of the same level or lower and they
do not need to expend resources on their earned Chronicle
sheets to resolve conditions. GMs receive full credit for the
adventure as normal (see page 17).

The Exchange 4/5

this too might help https://paizo.com/threads/rzs2up6w?Campaign-Mode-Clarifications#1

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

The most important section of what Jeff quoted being:

In Campaign mode, GMs can use their own rules for character creation and running the presented content (the entire book or series). They are not even required to use the Pathfinder RPG rules, but they must run the adventure using a tabletop roleplaying game and use the Adventure Path or Pathfinder Module as the primary source for adventure content.

So basically pick a sanctioned Adventure Path or Module and run it as you see fit ^_^


Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories, Pawns, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Let's see if I understand correctly

Must
GMs must run sanctioned Adventure Paths
or
GMs must run sanctioned Pathfinder Modules that specifically include this option in their sanctioning documents.

GMS must run the adventure using a tabletop roleplaying game

GMS must use the Adventure Path or Pathfinder Module as the primary source for adventure content

GMs must report sessions on paizo.com as usual

GMS must distribute Chronicle sheets to their players.

GMs receive full credit for the adventure as normal

Players must apply Campaign mode credit to characters of the same level or lower

May
GMs may use their own rules for character creation

GMs may use their own rules for running the entire book or series

GMs are not required to use the Pathfinder RPG rules

Players may apply the earned Chronicle sheets to an appropriate Roleplaying Guild character in-tier for the Chronicle Sheet
or
Players may use the sheet to create a new character.

Players do not need to expend resources on their earned Chronicle sheets to resolve conditions.

Cannot


Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories, Pawns, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Nefreet wrote:
(the entire book or series).

Do my players get credit for each book of an AP, or do they have to play through all 6 books in a series before they get any of the credit?

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber
CrystalSeas wrote:
GMS must distribute Chronicle sheets to their players.

This isn't a "must". I personally ran a lengthy module for a group of friends that were just trying out Society. By the time I finished the Campaign, they were no longer interested in doing Society. So I just issued Chronicles to myself and reported the game with no players.

CrystalSeas wrote:
Do my players get credit for each book of an AP, or do they have to play through all 6 books in a series before they get any of the credit?

Generally after you complete a Book, you issue the Chronicle then.

Sometimes due to delays in sanctioning, a GM might have to issue them all at the same time.


Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories, Pawns, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Nefreet wrote:
So I just issued Chronicles to myself and reported the game with no players.

You can do that!? Brilliant.

Scarab Sages 4/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

It’s worth noting that under the current campaign mode you are supposed to be committed to playing the entire AP. So it’s always been a little unclear whether you give the chronicles out after each part or all at the end. In practice it’s worked like Nefreet says. But it’s not generally supposed to be ok to say, “We’re going to run part 1 campaign mode” with no intent of ever running the rest of it.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Agent, Colorado—Denver aka roll4initiative

What about Mummy's Mask part 1? I thought that was replayable and you didn't have to worry about playing the rest of the AP.

Scarab Sages 4/5

Christian Dragos wrote:
What about Mummy's Mask part 1? I thought that was replayable and you didn't have to worry about playing the rest of the AP.

In PFS mode. Not campaign mode.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Ferious Thune wrote:
It’s worth noting that under the current campaign mode you are supposed to be committed to playing the entire AP.

Where was that stated?

I've done many Book 1 run throughs with no intention of playing the rest, since Book 1 was often replayable. As far as I've experienced that was a fairly common practice.

Scarab Sages 4/5

There was campaign comment on it at some point, but it depends how you interpret “running the presented content (the entire book or series). ” I believe that was originally meant to be book (module) or series (AP). I’m stepping out for a bit, but I’ll track down the comments on it later. I feel like someone asked Mike Brock about it directly at some point and the answer was that you had to be planning to play the whole AP.

Scarab Sages 4/5

The language seems to have changed slightly over time. Whether or not that was meant to change the rule is really impossible to know at this point. At one time, this was the language used: “ Alternatively, if you are participating in a Pathfinder Adventure Path with an ongoing home group undertaking the entire campaign, you may receive credit for playing the sanctioned portions of the adventure as if you had played a pregenerated character.”

I think the language changed around when some modules were given campaign mode, which is why I think book is a reference to modules. But it may be that the restriction was lifted. At this point I doubt anyone knows for sure how it’s supposed to work.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Agent, Colorado—Denver aka roll4initiative

Ferious Thune wrote:
Christian Dragos wrote:
What about Mummy's Mask part 1? I thought that was replayable and you didn't have to worry about playing the rest of the AP.
In PFS mode. Not campaign mode.

Ah. Ok. That's what I thought.


Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories, Pawns, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Christian Dragos wrote:
What about Mummy's Mask part 1? I thought that was replayable and you didn't have to worry about playing the rest of the AP.

Is this a "May" issue? Does it apply to the GM or to the players?


Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories, Pawns, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Ferious Thune wrote:

The language seems to have changed slightly over time. Whether or not that was meant to change the rule is really impossible to know at this point. At one time, this was the language used: “ Alternatively, if you are participating in a Pathfinder Adventure Path with an ongoing home group undertaking the entire campaign, you may receive credit for playing the sanctioned portions of the adventure as if you had played a pregenerated character.”

I think the language changed around when some modules were given campaign mode, which is why I think book is a reference to modules. But it may be that the restriction was lifted. At this point I doubt anyone knows for sure how it’s supposed to work.

Is this a "Must", "May", or "Cannot" issue at this time?

Scarab Sages 4/5

Well, I think it’s unclear now what the rule is, but my understanding has been that it’s a must. You must be undertaking the entire campaign. But there was never clarity on when chronicles were to be handed out, and in practice people leave campaigns all the time for a variety of reasons. So handing out chronicles each section should be fine. I think they just wanted some kind of restriction so people weren’t abusing the system and were intending to do the whole thing, whether that ended up happening or not.

Scarab Sages 4/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

So to clarify, all of that applies to campaign mode. You can run an individual book of an AP in PFS mode and never be planning to play any more of it.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Home Campaign Mode: Must, May, Cannot All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.