Bombard Fusion on a Grenade


Rules Questions


I don't see any reason why not for these questions, I'd just like some backup and reassurance on this topic.

Is there anything preventing me from putting a Bombarding fusion on a grenade, and then effectively pretend to throw it, with a mystic version of whatever grenade I loaded into it flinging off to explode baddies?

I like the idea of having a bandoleer of once-a-day grenades of various sorts on my person.

Being able to put them on grenades not only would thematically look cooler, it would be half as much credits for the fusions themselves (and cheaper base items...) as carrying around a bunch of light bulk small arms.

And also... on a level 10+ grenade, can you put two (or more!) Bombarding fusions on it, load it up with two (or more!) grenades? ... can I full attack with that one grenade, firing off both stored grenades in it?

I always loved the idea of a specialized grenade user, but the consumable cost thing always bothered me. I love the bombarding fusion, just want to squeeze out as much mileage as possible.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

There is not anything preventing you from putting the fusion on a grenade.

Ithe doesn't look like there is any provision for putting two copies of the same fusion on a weapon to double up on 1/day abilities. I think you're into houserule territory to do that, and determine any details related to it.

You could still full attack with 2 grenades, if they're both in hand, or you have Quickdraw. The full attack penalty would still apply to your save DC as normal, though, so the fusion doesn't make that much more appealing.


I think that is a great idea and very appealing. Even with the -4, the floor is easy to hit


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

The floor is easy to hit. The penalties to hit matter because they are also applied to the reflex save DC, not because you miss the square.


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

This is exactly the key to the Pokemon Trainer build!

Summoning Grenade Mk2 w/ Bombarding Fusion + Summoning Grenade Mk2 loaded inside is 1820 credits for a 1/day "Pokeball" that summons a monster as a standard action. You can easily afford 6 of them, sending out Pokemon each round even as you use your move action to buff people (assuming you play as Envoy).


HammerJack wrote:
The floor is easy to hit. The penalties to hit matter because they are also applied to the reflex save DC, not because you miss the square.

I forgot about the saves. I always think they will pass anyway.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Cellion wrote:

This is exactly the key to the Pokemon Trainer build!

Summoning Grenade Mk2 w/ Bombarding Fusion + Summoning Grenade Mk2 loaded inside is 1820 credits for a 1/day "Pokeball" that summons a monster as a standard action. You can easily afford 6 of them, sending out Pokemon each round even as you use your move action to buff people (assuming you play as Envoy).

Hmm. Normally I am skeptical of shenanigans builds like this, but while I wouldn't *literally* allow a player to build something like this out of a fusion and a pair of grenades. . . I feel like this is a good way to *price* a piece of equipment that has the same fundamental effect. This would both cover reusable devices like your "pokeball", as well as things like "a crate of grenades that lets you effectively have 1/day for use".


Metaphysician wrote:
Cellion wrote:

This is exactly the key to the Pokemon Trainer build!

Summoning Grenade Mk2 w/ Bombarding Fusion + Summoning Grenade Mk2 loaded inside is 1820 credits for a 1/day "Pokeball" that summons a monster as a standard action. You can easily afford 6 of them, sending out Pokemon each round even as you use your move action to buff people (assuming you play as Envoy).

Hmm. Normally I am skeptical of shenanigans builds like this, but while I wouldn't *literally* allow a player to build something like this out of a fusion and a pair of grenades. . . I feel like this is a good way to *price* a piece of equipment that has the same fundamental effect. This would both cover reusable devices like your "pokeball", as well as things like "a crate of grenades that lets you effectively have 1/day for use".

So, basically just reskinning the weird rules into something less nonsensical.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Garretmander wrote:
Metaphysician wrote:
Cellion wrote:

This is exactly the key to the Pokemon Trainer build!

Summoning Grenade Mk2 w/ Bombarding Fusion + Summoning Grenade Mk2 loaded inside is 1820 credits for a 1/day "Pokeball" that summons a monster as a standard action. You can easily afford 6 of them, sending out Pokemon each round even as you use your move action to buff people (assuming you play as Envoy).

Hmm. Normally I am skeptical of shenanigans builds like this, but while I wouldn't *literally* allow a player to build something like this out of a fusion and a pair of grenades. . . I feel like this is a good way to *price* a piece of equipment that has the same fundamental effect. This would both cover reusable devices like your "pokeball", as well as things like "a crate of grenades that lets you effectively have 1/day for use".
So, basically just reskinning the weird rules into something less nonsensical.

Exactly. Reskinning is the GM's friend, since usually the game balance for a weird build is fine, its just the world logic that isn't.

( So why care about world logic? Because an RPG is not a video game, where anything not mechanically established is impossible. World logic determines what the players *should* be able to do, where the rules don't otherwise say. And if the GM routinely allows/approves absurd mechanical constructs, it effectively rewrites the setting into one where absurd outcomes are physically possible. )


HammerJack wrote:

There is not anything preventing you from putting the fusion on a grenade.

Ithe doesn't look like there is any provision for putting two copies of the same fusion on a weapon to double up on 1/day abilities. I think you're into houserule territory to do that, and determine any details related to it.

You could still full attack with 2 grenades, if they're both in hand, or you have Quickdraw. The full attack penalty would still apply to your save DC as normal, though, so the fusion doesn't make that much more appealing.

I'm not sure there are any rules saying you couldn't put two copies of the same weapon fusion on a single weapon either. Though having the effect stack wouldn't make much sense in a lot of cases.

The alternative would be to put the fusions on two different weapons and have to have one in each hand in order to full attack with the bombard effects.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Bombard Fusion on a Grenade All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.