I have a couple of questions about the Witch Doctor's Fetish Mask
"At 1st level, a scarred witch doctor forms a bond with a wooden mask. As she gains power, her connection to this mask causes it to grow ever more hideous and grotesque as it absorbs the weight of the self-induced pain that underlies her magic. Her spells derive from the insights her patron grants her while she’s enduring the cuts, burns, and other sorts of mutilations she inflicts upon herself. Her fetish mask acts in all ways like a witch’s familiar for the purpose of preparing and gaining spells. Rather than communing with a familiar to prepare spells each day, a scarred witch doctor hangs her mask on a wall, tree branch, or something similar and contemplates the agony it represents.
When wearing her fetish mask, a scarred witch doctor gains a +2 circumstance bonus on Heal and Intimidate checks and gains a +2 bonus on saving throws against effects that specifically cause pain or have the pain descriptor. If the mask is destroyed, the witch doctor can create another fetish mask (which almost immediately adopts the shocking appearance of the original) for the same price and time it takes a witch to replace a dead familiar.
At 5th level, the scarred witch doctor gains the ability to add magical abilities to her mask as if she had the Craft Wondrous Item feat.
This ability otherwise functions like and replaces the standard witch familiar."
1. Does it take up a slot?
2. If you improve it to a Headband of Vast Intelligence does it then take up a slot?
It says wearing it, and enchants as if you had craft wondourous. Yes it would take up a head slot (not head band slot though.)
And would it before level 5? Really kind of moot as the idea of having enough cash at level 4 for a magic item for the specific slot for this specific archetype is just not going to happen. Even if you had the money for it, it would be better to wait a single level and get it yourself for half the price and no worry of doubling up.
Yes, it is the head slot.
|That Crazy Alchemist|
Yes and no.
If using the custom magic item creation rules, slot doesn't matter the it did in 3rd and you can make yourself a Mask of Intellect. But that's optional, so check with your GM.
If using only existing items, then yeah, you'll mimic hats, helmets, circlets, crowns and stuff. And masks, obviously.
In that case, do keep an eye for the Headband != Head thing, there are a few surprises.
I also have to agree with Cavall, I have a hard time imagining you having so many magic items that slot tetris becomes an issue before level 5.