Noqual Dragon Dampening Field


Rules Questions


In Alien Archive 3, one of the new 'starmetal' dragons is called the Noqual Dragon, with an aura effect that suppresses magic using a caster check. According to the book:

AA3 p23 wrote:
The DC of this check is determined by the noqual dragon's spell resistance

However, earlier, the page mentions:

AA3 p23 wrote:
If a starmetal dragon's CR is 11 or higher, it has the crush universal creature rule (see page 151) and spell resistance equal to 11 + its CR.

So, Noqual Dragons that are under CR 10 don't have spell resistance. The rules don't have an explicit CR limitation on the dampening field aura, and the other starmetal dragons' auras function from wyrmling age onward.

Should Noqual Dragons under CR 10 just be assumed to not have this aura? Or should the implied scale of spell resistance for dragons be applied to determine the DC (with it being basically 11 + CR), even when the dragon doesn't actually have spell resistance?


ParaheliZ wrote:

In Alien Archive 3, one of the new 'starmetal' dragons is called the Noqual Dragon, with an aura effect that suppresses magic using a caster check. According to the book:

AA3 p23 wrote:
The DC of this check is determined by the noqual dragon's spell resistance

However, earlier, the page mentions:

AA3 p23 wrote:
If a starmetal dragon's CR is 11 or higher, it has the crush universal creature rule (see page 151) and spell resistance equal to 11 + its CR.

So, Noqual Dragons that are under CR 10 don't have spell resistance. The rules don't have an explicit CR limitation on the dampening field aura, and the other starmetal dragons' auras function from wyrmling age onward.

Should Noqual Dragons under CR 10 just be assumed to not have this aura? Or should the implied scale of spell resistance for dragons be applied to determine the DC (with it being basically 11 + CR), even when the dragon doesn't actually have spell resistance?

I think, technically, it would still force the check, but the DC would be zero. You can only fail on a natural one.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Noqual Dragon Dampening Field All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.