Awaken animal costs?


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I'm seeing a full price and a 1/5 price. Which am I to pay? Or is it both?


As I read it, you pay the 1/5 (because the ritual says that) and do not also/instead pay the full cost on the Create Creature table, if only because you're not actually creating a creature, just altering one.

Hope that made sense.


1/5. Where are you seeing full price associated with Awaken Animal?

The full price are for creating creatures that are your minions, Awaken is cheap because the resulting creature isn't a permanent minion, it's just someone who might do favors for you and the GM can send away as soon as he wants.


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Xenocrat wrote:
1/5. Where are you seeing full price associated with Awaken Animal?

Right here, next to the spell.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Ravingdork wrote:
Xenocrat wrote:
1/5. Where are you seeing full price associated with Awaken Animal?
Right here, next to the spell.

That's an artifact of AoN's presentation. Apparently they decided to include Table 7-1 in full in every ritual that references it. The table does not appear in Awaken Animal (or other individual rituals) in the actual book/pdf, it's presented once before all rituals. The upshot is, don't take its apparent presence too seriously.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Ravingdork wrote:
Xenocrat wrote:
1/5. Where are you seeing full price associated with Awaken Animal?
Right here, next to the spell.

Even with that the ritual explicitly tells you the cost is 1/5th what the table says. Just do what the ritual says, no more no less.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Awaken animal costs? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.