Feat levels & backtaking


Rules Discussion


I did a quick search on the forum to find an answer to my question, but could not. So here it is.

To put it simply, for example, can a player character take a Feat 2 when choosing a feat for 4th Level, or is a character limited to Feat 4-ranked feats when reaching 4th level?

I would assume *yes*, but when planning acampaign in Hwanggot, It makes sense for the mother to have passed on, and the daughter who was forward thinking and had her people construct stone forts along their nation’s river border, to become the queen, and for Bacchuan to be at war with Hwanggot and it’s other neighbors; I am making her a level 12 ranger (her main duties are being queen, not ranging), but I want her not to be too combat-focused, so rather than make her dual-classed, I figured I would make it easy on myself, since she is only an npc who won’t be seen much of during the campaign.


Yes you can select any class feat of your level or lower that you satisfy the prerequisites and conditions.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
randall s. wrote:
since she is only an npc who won’t be seen much of during the campaign.

If you're building an NPC, those don't have to follow the rules for leveling PCs. You can basically just create them with whatever feats and abilities you wish.


albadeon wrote:
If you're building an NPC, those don't have to follow the rules for leveling PCs. You can basically just create them with whatever feats and abilities you wish.

I know, but I want to publish it as an app in the future, I want to do it right the first time using Paizo standards.

I say “Ironfang invasion”, but I am using that as an AP template and adding some Asian flare for the Hwanggot / Bacchuan / Po Li trifecta.

I hope the gate in Jinin doesn’t get destroyed, too, for Age of Ashes round two.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Feat levels & backtaking All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.