Righteous Might


Rules Discussion


Can you cast spells while you have Righteous Might active? It says you can use manipulate actions, would that equal yes you can cast spells?


I would say no. The polymorph trait specifies that you cannot speak and Righteous Might says the special attack with a righteous armament version of your favored weapon is the only attack you can use. So I think the intent is you still can't use spells but you may be able to rule that spells with only somatic or material components that don't have the attack trait can be used (though I'm not sure if there are any).


kripdenn wrote:
I would say no. The polymorph trait specifies that you cannot speak and Righteous Might says the special attack with a righteous armament version of your favored weapon is the only attack you can use. So I think the intent is you still can't use spells but you may be able to rule that spells with only somatic or material components that don't have the attack trait can be used (though I'm not sure if there are any).

Correct can't speak, questionable whether I would be able to perform Somatic component action spells ie. Single action heal/harm. Harm Infact does not have the attack trait, but not sure what the official word here is.


Atalius wrote:
kripdenn wrote:
I would say no. The polymorph trait specifies that you cannot speak and Righteous Might says the special attack with a righteous armament version of your favored weapon is the only attack you can use. So I think the intent is you still can't use spells but you may be able to rule that spells with only somatic or material components that don't have the attack trait can be used (though I'm not sure if there are any).
Correct can't speak, questionable whether I would be able to perform Somatic component action spells ie. Single action heal/harm. Harm Infact does not have the attack trait, but not sure what the official word here is.

Oh yeah I forgot about heal and harm. Though I still feel the intent isn't to allow spellcasting. I think they would have specifically mentioned spellcasting if they did intend for it.


Perhaps ya, what's the reason they added you can use manipulate actions part for?


Would anyone else like to weigh in on this?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It's a Polymorph spell that is a battle form, so no spells during the transformation, being able to do manipulate actions mainly means that you have hands unlike some other battle forms and can interact with items (like using a potion) or weapons (use a bow).


Kyrone wrote:
It's a Polymorph spell that is a battle form, so no spells during the transformation, being able to do manipulate actions mainly means that you have hands unlike some other battle forms and can interact with items (like using a potion) or weapons (use a bow).

Cool thank you! I guess I won't be using this spell!


I love this spell, built my character concept with this spell in mind. But I hate that the only attack I can make is with this special weapon. I wish I could use trip or shove, but I can't since those have the attack trait. What do you think the reason is that she can't trip or shove while in this battle form?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Righteous Might All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.