Shrinking Weapon Property


Rules Questions


So a weapon with the shrinking property says:

Shrinking wrote:
...shrinks to the size of a standard dagger...

So I have three questions.

Does this change the weapon's size category? I.e., does is become a light weapon?

Can you still use it with feats such as slashing grace or others that specify a specific weapon while shrunk?

Do you get the +2 to sleight of hand that comes with being a dagger?

I think raw the answers are in order, no, yes, no. But I wanted to see what other people thought.


Strangely, I think you're right. I wouldn't run it that way, though.


How would you run it? I'm looking for opinions on that as well.

I'm decided on whether I think it should change the size category. It probably should.

For the feats I think it depends. I mean in a way it is still the same weapon, but in a way it's not. A dagger sized polearm just shouldn't have reach, you shouldn't be able to two hand a dagger size greatsword for cornigan smash. But for smaller weapons I can see it working fine just a a lower damage. A dagger sized gladeus is pretty close to a gladeus, should your weapon focus work? Maybe. It would also allow for some really interesting two weapon fighting options if you say it does change the size category, or it's fine I have a normal bastard sword and a light 1d4 damage bastard sword.

The +2 to sleight of hand I feel like is implied by the flavor text, and I'd allow it.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
baggageboy wrote:


Does this change the weapon's size category? I.e., does is become a light weapon?

Can you still use it with feats such as slashing grace or others that specify a specific weapon while shrunk?

Do you get the +2 to sleight of hand that comes with being a dagger?

I would think yes, since the size changed.

It seems to still be the same weapon except for the size and damage die, so your feats with that weapon should still apply

That bonus is specific to daggers and there are weapons the size of daggers that don't get it, so I would say you don't get that bonus.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Shrinking Weapon Property All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.