Grave Marker Arrow


Rules Questions


This +1 arrow is crafted from human bone.

When it strikes a target, all mindless undead within 300 feet are compelled to attack the creature struck. This effect ignores the immunity to mind-affecting effects normally granted by the undead creature type. Undead under the control of another creature can be forced to ignore this command if their master succeeds at a DC 11 caster level check. Sentient undead are unaffected. The compulsion lasts for 1 minute, after which the undead revert to their normal behavior.

So, my friend and I are having a disagreement. I think it's saying that the necromancer casting the command undead has to roll a DC11 check, my friend thinks it's DC 11 plus caster level.

Can anybody confirm if it's a mistake or not?


The master of the mindless undead who wishes to prevent those undead attacking the creature struck rolls a DC 11 caster level check. Not a DC 11 + caster level check, it's very clear.


avr wrote:
The master of the mindless undead who wishes to prevent those undead attacking the creature struck rolls a DC 11 caster level check. Not a DC 11 + caster level check, it's very clear.

That's what I say, but, that's a super low level check for any caster, which is his argument.


The way it's written it's primarily a means of directing uncontrolled undead. As in, when you animate more than you can control. Being able to override 5th level clerics 25% of the time is a side effect, not the main effect.


Wilhim wrote:
avr wrote:
The master of the mindless undead who wishes to prevent those undead attacking the creature struck rolls a DC 11 caster level check. Not a DC 11 + caster level check, it's very clear.

That's what I say, but, that's a super low level check for any caster, which is his argument.

DC 11 is super low for any caster? It's not like you don't get to add your casting score or anything. A 1st level caster only has a 50/50 shot, and it's not guaranteed until 10th. After that, well, it's still good against mindless undead not currently being controlled.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Grave Marker Arrow All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.