Path of War: Disruptive Wave


Rules Questions


Alright, I've about had it with this counter. I've never been able to use it because of my GM's ruling on it.

But if a spell like fireball (area effect) doesn't speciffically target me. Can I still use Disrupive Wave against it?

pfsrd wrote:


Disruptive Wave
Discipline: Mithral Current (Counter); Level: 4
Prerequisites: One Mithral Current maneuver
Initiation Action: 1 immediate action
Range: Melee attack
Target: One creature
Duration: Instant

DESCRIPTION

By sensing the ripples in reality caused by powerful magic, you are able to anticipate and strike before a spell takes effect. You can initiate this counter in response to being targeted by a power, psi-like ability, spell, or spell-like ability. Make a charge attack against the originator of the effect, moving up to twice your speed towards them as normal. If it hits, it deals weapon damage as normal, possibly interrupting the effect and increasing the DC of the Concentration check to not lose the effect by +4.

I need to know because it's been wasting a spot in my selection of maneuvers for a few years.


It would help if we knew how you think DW works, what your GM ruled and why you think that is wrong.

Area effects don't target individuals, so you can't use DW on it.
You might want to read up on aiming a spell


This belongs in the Third Party Rules Forum.


OgreWarHulk wrote:

Alright, I've about had it with this counter. I've never been able to use it because of my GM's ruling on it.

But if a spell like fireball (area effect) doesn't speciffically target me. Can I still use Disrupive Wave against it?

pfsrd wrote:


Disruptive Wave
Discipline: Mithral Current (Counter); Level: 4
Prerequisites: One Mithral Current maneuver
Initiation Action: 1 immediate action
Range: Melee attack
Target: One creature
Duration: Instant

DESCRIPTION

By sensing the ripples in reality caused by powerful magic, you are able to anticipate and strike before a spell takes effect. You can initiate this counter in response to being targeted by a power, psi-like ability, spell, or spell-like ability. Make a charge attack against the originator of the effect, moving up to twice your speed towards them as normal. If it hits, it deals weapon damage as normal, possibly interrupting the effect and increasing the DC of the Concentration check to not lose the effect by +4.

I need to know because it's been wasting a spot in my selection of maneuvers for a few years.

Your GM is quite correct. Fireball does not target. This counter does not work against AOEs.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Path of War: Disruptive Wave All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.