Arcanist Exploit "Force Strike" - Damage?


Rules Questions


Quote:

Quoting from http://legacy.aonprd.com/advancedClassGuide/classes/arcanist.html

"...and deals a number of points of force damage equal to 1d4 + 1 per arcanist level."

The way this is worded and punctuated, it would seem to say that a 12th-level arcanist's Force Strike would hit for 12d4+12. Is this correct?

Or, was there supposed to be a comma after the "1d4" (making the damage 1d4+12, for my hypothetical 12th-level arcanist)?

Please let me know.
Thanks! ;-)
Franklin


From Archives of Nethys, now the official Paizo reference site:

Quote:
Force Strike (Su) (Advanced Class Guide pg. 11): The arcanist can unleash a blast of force by expending 1 point from her arcane reservoir. This attack automatically strikes one target within 30 feet (as magic missile) and deals 1d4 points of force damage, plus 1 point of damage per arcanist level. Spells and effects that negate magic missile also negate this effect.

Looks like it got clarified.

Edit: For what it's worth, I don't know if this version ever got printed, and there's no FAQ entry for it, but since Paizo has deemed AoN the official rules reference, here we are.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Advanced class guide wrote:


Force Strike (Su): The arcanist can unleash a blast of force by expending 1 point from her arcane reservoir. This attack automatically strikes one target within 30 feet (as Force Strike (Su): The arcanist can unleash a blast of force by expending 1 point from her arcane reservoir. This attack automatically strikes one target within 30 feet (as magic missile) and deals 1d4 points of force damage, plus 1 point of damage per arcanist level. Spells and effects that negate magic missile also negate this effect.

The same text as blahpers cited, taken from the printed book.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Arcanist Exploit "Force Strike" - Damage? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.