Shield questions!


Rules Discussion


Hi everyone, it's me again for a whole new batch of questions. Shields up!

I haven't found in the rules the "strap a shield" and "unstrap a shield" actions, so I assume I just need one action to retrieve a shield and strap it, and it's a free action to let go a shield?

Can you etch runes on shield bosses and shield spikes?
If yes, how do they interact with a doubling ring (one way or another, can a doubling ring "enchant" shield spikes and can a doubling ring "enchant" the weapon in your other hand with the shield spikes runes).
How do they react to a shifting rune? Can I just change them into any other one-handed weapon, automatically removing them from the shield?

I think it makes a good number of questions!


Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
SuperBidi wrote:
I haven't found in the rules the "strap a shield" and "unstrap a shield" actions, so I assume I just need one action to retrieve a shield and strap it, and it's a free action to let go a shield?

The rules only say "Your character must be wielding a shield in one hand to make use of it". The rules for wielding boil down to having an item in the appropriate number of hands, and using an interact action to draw it.

I find no compelling reason to assume you can't pick up and drop shields just like you could with a weapon, and that "strapping on a shield" is a flavor or RP decision (which makes sense given the existence of center grip shields).

SuperBidi wrote:
Can you etch runes on shield bosses and shield spikes?

The shield rules say: "A shield can’t have runes added to it. You can also buy and attach a shield boss or shield spikes to a shield to make it a more practical weapon. These can be found on Table 6–7. These work like other weapons and can even be etched with runes."

So, yes.

SuperBidi wrote:
If yes, how do they interact with a doubling ring (one way or another, can a doubling ring "enchant" shield spikes and can a doubling ring "enchant" the weapon in your other hand with the shield spikes runes).

Since spikes and bosses work like other weapons, it should work with doubling rings as normal.

SuperBidi wrote:
How do they react to a shifting rune? Can I just change them into any other one-handed weapon, automatically removing them from the shield?

I would say RAW, a shifted shield spike would turn into a different weapon and fall onto the ground, since you don't have a free hand to grab it, and the weapon lakes the "attached to shield" property.

In my games, I personally wouldn't mind letting a player turn their whole shield into a new weapon, since they're suppressing all the value of their shield for the duration, it's not overpowered.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
SuperBidi wrote:
can a doubling ring "enchant" shield spikes

.

The 5th-level pregen Valeros makes use of this, his sword runes are doubled onto his shield boss, so definitely yes.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
SuperBidi wrote:
I haven't found in the rules the "strap a shield" and "unstrap a shield" actions, so I assume I just need one action to retrieve a shield and strap it, and it's a free action to let go a shield?

I can't find any rules for strapping a shield on, but unstrapping it is listed on table 6-2 (CRB p 273) as a one-handed interact action. That should be a single Action.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Actually it reads:

CRB p273 wrote:
Detach a shield or item strapped to you

We needn't argue whether or not a shield is strapped to you so that you have to unstrap it. Detaching a shield is an action. Detaching another item strapped to you (a backpack, satchel or scabbard?) is also an action.


I'm not sure on this, but it looks like spiked/bossed bucklers wouldn't always work with the doubling rings though as bucklers are strapped only and don't occupy the hand; unless you're using the spikes/boss as a weapon which do occupy the hand. That may require you putting a hand on the buckler as an interact though.


There is a difference in description between bucklers and larger shields. Bucklers say they are strapped, others don't (even if, at first, I would tend to assume it, but as they occupy a hand they may not need to be strapped).

Also, if there isn't a "strap" action, how many actions does it cost to strap my shield?

I think something's missing.


SuperBidi wrote:

There is a difference in description between bucklers and larger shields. Bucklers say they are strapped, others don't (even if, at first, I would tend to assume it, but as they occupy a hand they may not need to be strapped).

Also, if there isn't a "strap" action, how many actions does it cost to strap my shield?

I think something's missing.

Bucklers are "strapped" because you can wield an item in the same hand without letting go of the buckler.


Strill wrote:
SuperBidi wrote:

There is a difference in description between bucklers and larger shields. Bucklers say they are strapped, others don't (even if, at first, I would tend to assume it, but as they occupy a hand they may not need to be strapped).

Also, if there isn't a "strap" action, how many actions does it cost to strap my shield?

I think something's missing.

Bucklers are "strapped" because you can wield an item in the same hand without letting go of the buckler.

Simply this.

And because are strapped with a free hand possibility, you don't need to drop them as you can do with Normal shields, which require the use of the hand the whole time.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Shield questions! All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.