Old locations, new errata, and closing


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


So an errata was just released converting a number of characters' powers that allowed them to move after closing a location to the Core Amiri power, "Closing your location does not prevent you from moving." Which is great! Making these character powers work with new locations is awesome.

However, there's one little problem. Another errata says that when using older locations, you don't remove the location or automatically move on closing. So now these powers don't work on old locations! Which is not so great. (I mean, excepting those few locations which continue to have cards after closing.)

So, I'd like to recommend to Vic and the other developers a small tweak to that errata. Rather than "...it stays in play and local characters do not automatically move," instead use "... it stays in play and local characters may choose not to automatically move." And then it works for everyone! :D


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I support the idea


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Adding automatic movement into pre-Core sets causes some other balance hiccups (though no more or less serious than dozens of other things that you just have to live with, I suppose), and particularly intersects weirdly with some pre-Core locations over others (like Windward Isle). I think it's more elegant that these powers simply have "Closing your location does not prevent you from moving" appended to them, rather than replacing their original power.

It makes the powers stronger (pre-Core), for certain, but I think that's probably for the best anyway.


Okay, so I was really confused and had to look at Amiri's card (I haven't played her yet) to understand why there would be a rule that stated you can't move after closing a location (since it's what you're supposed to do anyway). Then I realized both of you misquoted the power and typed "moving" instead of "exploring" LOL!

I agree with Yewstance here. Adding the power "closing your location does not prevent you from exploring" instead of replacing the original power seems to be seems to be the most elegant solution. But I disagree that it makes the power stronger. For pre-Core rules, there was nothing preventing characters from exploring again after closing a location anyway, so it doesn't give those characters anything they couldn't already do.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Well... it makes the powers stronger if you're playing a pre-Core scenario with post-Core rules (which is supposed to be the intent - hence PACS and the Conversion Guide as a whole).


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Please clarify. If you're playing a pre-Core scenario with post-Core rules, location handling is the same as it was pre-Core (i.e. the location isn't removed and characters don't automatically move to a new location). So characters like Amiri, who were always intended to be able to move to a new location and continue exploring, would still be able to do so with the proposed addendum that you made.

I'm not seeing how that's stronger than before. Unless you're stating that it makes the power stronger than it is with the current conversion rules, then yes. But that's because the current rules make the power far weaker than it was previously (which is the crux of the original post).

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Regarding the Conversion Guide entry for Feiya/Amiri/Wrathack/Seoni, we are considering replacing the text "Replace the following powers on the following characters" with "When you would put your location card back into the vault, flip it over. If it has a Pathfinder Adventure Card Game logo on the back, replace the following powers on the following characters until the end of the turn."

Thoughts?


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I would suggest (if my english is right)...

"When you would put your location card back into the vault, if its back doesn't have a Pathfinder Adventure Card Game logo, flip it over instead. Else, replace the following powers on the following characters until the end of the turn."

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

This is intended to complement (not replace) this entry.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

"When you would put your location card back into the vault, flip it over. If it has a Pathfinder Adventure Card Game logo on the back, replace the following powers on the following characters until the end of the turn."

The wording leaves out an instruction to put the location card back into the vault (if it has the PACG logo). It is probably assumed that players understand that the location card is supposed to go back into the vault since no contrary instruction is given. However, the "when you would" verbiage is often used in rules that then direct players to do something else. There's bound to be some confusion. What about...

""When you would put your location card back into the vault, flip it over. If it has a Pathfinder Adventure Card Game logo on the back, put the location card back into the vault and replace the following powers on the following characters until the end of the turn."

(added the bold portion)

...?

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

See my post right above yours.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Vic Wertz wrote:
This is intended to complement (not replace) this entry.

OK then I remove my remark.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

To reduce confusion, I went with a single entry covering both rules.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Old locations, new errata, and closing All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion