Necrograph Personal Upgrades.


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

I just wanted to see if I was reading this correctly. That could choose a necrograft form of a personal upgrade.

CRB wrote:

Personal upgrades may be cybernetics,

biotech upgrades, mystical crystals, nanite
enhancements, or various other forms
of enhancement, and each permanently
grants you additional ability score points.
Armory wrote:

Any biotech or cybernetic

augmentation can be created as a necrograft and installed
for only 90% of the augmentation’s normal cost, but doing
so causes the recipient to gain the necrograft subtype (see
below).

Working on a spooky android and want to know if this can make him spookier.


Sounds about right to me.


Thematically, sure; mechanically I wouldn't allow it; Personal Upgrades are their own thing and don't follow normal aug rules.

You can just say your upgrade is spooky; mechanically it is the same as anyone else's.


Dracomicron wrote:

Thematically, sure; mechanically I wouldn't allow it; Personal Upgrades are their own thing and don't follow normal aug rules.

You can just say your upgrade is spooky; mechanically it is the same as anyone else's.

They have special rules about upgrades and being slotless, but they are still augmentations, and they are still (possibly) cybernetics.

It's sort of a gray area, but a 10% discount and a possibly useful subtype is nice, but it's not like it's broken.


Garretmander wrote:
Dracomicron wrote:

Thematically, sure; mechanically I wouldn't allow it; Personal Upgrades are their own thing and don't follow normal aug rules.

You can just say your upgrade is spooky; mechanically it is the same as anyone else's.

They have special rules about upgrades and being slotless, but they are still augmentations, and they are still (possibly) cybernetics.

It's sort of a gray area, but a 10% discount and a possibly useful subtype is nice, but it's not like it's broken.

Can the subtype be useful? I always understood it to be a fairly straight penalty. It would hit OP's character extra hard because they would count as a construct, humanoid, and undead for hostile effects. That's a pretty broad range.


Perpdepog wrote:
Garretmander wrote:
Dracomicron wrote:

Thematically, sure; mechanically I wouldn't allow it; Personal Upgrades are their own thing and don't follow normal aug rules.

You can just say your upgrade is spooky; mechanically it is the same as anyone else's.

They have special rules about upgrades and being slotless, but they are still augmentations, and they are still (possibly) cybernetics.

It's sort of a gray area, but a 10% discount and a possibly useful subtype is nice, but it's not like it's broken.

Can the subtype be useful? I always understood it to be a fairly straight penalty. It would hit OP's character extra hard because they would count as a construct, humanoid, and undead for hostile effects. That's a pretty broad range.

It's mostly good if there is a technomancer in the party who can learn a few undead only healing spells. They count as any of the three types for spells and effects, beneficial or hostile.


Garretmander wrote:
Perpdepog wrote:
Garretmander wrote:
Dracomicron wrote:

Thematically, sure; mechanically I wouldn't allow it; Personal Upgrades are their own thing and don't follow normal aug rules.

You can just say your upgrade is spooky; mechanically it is the same as anyone else's.

They have special rules about upgrades and being slotless, but they are still augmentations, and they are still (possibly) cybernetics.

It's sort of a gray area, but a 10% discount and a possibly useful subtype is nice, but it's not like it's broken.

Can the subtype be useful? I always understood it to be a fairly straight penalty. It would hit OP's character extra hard because they would count as a construct, humanoid, and undead for hostile effects. That's a pretty broad range.
It's mostly good if there is a technomancer in the party who can learn a few undead only healing spells. They count as any of the three types for spells and effects, beneficial or hostile.

Ah true, they would work for Necromantic Revitalization. Kind of a niche use but definitely a benefit I hadn't considered before.

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Perpdepog wrote:
Can the subtype be useful? I always understood it to be a fairly straight penalty. It would hit OP's character extra hard because they would count as a construct, humanoid, and undead for hostile effects. That's a pretty broad range.

How often do you run into enemies who are better at fighting undead or constructs than they are at fighting humanoids? I think that's quite rare actually.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Necrograph Personal Upgrades. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions