Specialty Crafting and Magical Crafting


Rules Discussion


Hi everyone,

I have a question about these 2 feats.
Magical Crafting allows me to craft magical items. Specialty Crafting gives me a bonus on some type of crafting. But... I don't manage to find a single "magical crafting" specialty. I don't see rune crafting, or potion crafting or wand crafting.
I like the idea of crafting wands, as my character is multiclassed as druid. Can I take Specialty Crafting: Woodcrafting to get a bonus on wand crafting as the wand description states that wands are in general made of wood?
As I play PFS, I can't ask my DM, so I would hope to find a solution which feels too logical to annoy any DM.

Also, in Crafting a Wand, it is said that the spell contained in the wand has to be cast during the process. There is no information about when the spell has to be cast. Can I start the crafting process without having the spell available and wait for the moment someone can cast the proper spell on my wand to finish it?


SuperBidi wrote:
Can I take Specialty Crafting: Woodcrafting to get a bonus on wand crafting as the wand description states that wands are in general made of wood? As I play PFS, I can't ask my DM, so I would hope to find a solution which feels too logical to annoy any DM.

Sounds pretty darn logical to me, but "too logical to annoy any DM" is a pretty high bar.

SuperBidi wrote:
Also, in Crafting a Wand, it is said that the spell contained in the wand has to be cast during the process. There is no information about when the spell has to be cast. Can I start the crafting process without having the spell available and wait for the moment someone can cast the proper spell on my wand to finish it?

Certainly you aren't required to have the spell at the very beginning. Personally I would rule that you have to supply the spell casting within the initial mandatory four days, because the end of that is when you expend raw materials and make the Craft check, and I can't see making the check without the spell.

Whether you can put the four days "on pause" partway through is unclear to me. You can definitely do so during the optional later days, the Craft skill says so there, and I think it's meant to apply to the early days too.

If you do go "on pause" before supplying the spell, I'm pretty sure you'll need to be in downtime mode again and spend a full day Crafting during which someone casts it for you---I don't think you can just have someone you're adventuring with, during exploration mode, cast the spell while they're there. Absorbing the spell is an act of Crafting, and Crafting an item is a downtime activity by definition, and downtime happens in units of days.

Hope some of that helped.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Specialty Crafting and Magical Crafting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.