Persistent damage: roll once, or each round?


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

For persistent damage (such as the bleed critical effect), if the damage is listed as a damage die (e.g. 1d6), do you roll that damage once (immediately) and apply the constant value each round, or do you roll the damage each round (so the damage taken is variable)? I had always assumed the latter, but I played with a GM that did the former. The PF2 rules explicitly state that damage dice are re-rolled every round for persistent damage, but I couldn't find such a clarification for Starfinder. Did I miss it?


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber
Grim Ranger wrote:
For persistent damage (such as the bleed critical effect), if the damage is listed as a damage die (e.g. 1d6), do you roll that damage once (immediately) and apply the constant value each round, or do you roll the damage each round (so the damage taken is variable)? I had always assumed the latter, but I played with a GM that did the former. The PF2 rules explicitly state that damage dice are re-rolled every round for persistent damage, but I couldn't find such a clarification for Starfinder. Did I miss it?

p.273 CRB says, for both Bleeding and Burning, that "you take the listed amount of damage" at the beginning/start of your turn (emphasis mine). I would interpret the listed amount to be the value in the effect's text (from your example, 1d6) and thus roll every round.

Paizo Employee Starfinder Lead Designer

3 people marked this as a favorite.
AshenShade wrote:
p.273 CRB says, for both Bleeding and Burning, that "you take the listed amount of damage" at the beginning/start of your turn (emphasis mine). I would interpret the listed amount to be the value in the effect's text (from your example, 1d6) and thus roll every round.

I interpret it the same way!

Grand Lodge

Thanks! That's how I had always interpreted it, and it made me wonder if I had been doing it wrong all this time.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Persistent damage: roll once, or each round? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.