Companion's Cry does what now?


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Adventure, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The 4th level Ranger feat Companion's Cry says you can spend 2 actions instead of one on the Command an Animal action and give your animal companion an extra action. Why would you do this instead of using the Command an Animal action twice?

I seem to recall something from the playtest about only being able to use Command an Animal once per round but can't find anything in the core rule book that says this. The action does has the concentrate trait on it but I see nothing about concentrate stopping you from using another concentrate action and nothing on the command an animal action stopping you from using it twice or more in a round.

So, what use does this feat actually have?

Edit:
Here are some quick links to each item I am talking about:
Companion's Cry
Animal Companions
Command an Animal Action
Concentrate


4 people marked this as a favorite.

Animal companions have the minion trait and thus only gain 2 actions per round normally. So even if you can command it multiple times, it doesn't magically gain more actions this way.


Pathfinder Adventure, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Ah, there was the missing piece. Thank you.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Animal companions have the Minion trait and are normally limited to 2 actions per turn if you command them. It looks like you can still only command them once by my reading. Note the once per turn language.

Minion Trait wrote:
Minions are creatures that directly serve another creature. A creature with this trait can use only 2 actions per turn and can’t use reactions. Your minion acts on your turn in combat, once per turn, when you spend an action to issue it commands. For an animal companion, you Command an Animal; for a minion that’s a spell or magic item effect, like a summoned minion, you Sustain a Spell or Sustain an Activation; if not otherwise specified, you issue a verbal command, a single action with the auditory and concentrate traits. If given no commands, minions use no actions except to defend themselves or to escape obvious harm. If left unattended for long enough, typically 1 minute, mindless minions usually don’t act, animals follow their instincts, and sapient minions act how they please.


I missed the minion trait limitations that spells it out much more clearly.


Honestly I think the intention is a ranger/druid can only do command animal 1 in a round so that would let them get some more pet actions. But I really don't see anything that stops you from using the normal command animal multiple times in a round. I see in the spell area that multiple concentration spells are possible if you are willing to spend the actions.

That said normal command animal is pretty specific about burning more actions to make your target animal do more stuff while the animal companion rules specifically change that functionality. It makes no mention of being able to spend more than the one action on it.

I can still sort of see it both ways. The fact that feat exists at all seems to indicate they expect animal companions default is 1 action per turn to gain 2 pet actions per turn.


kaid wrote:

Honestly I think the intention is a ranger/druid can only do command animal 1 in a round so that would let them get some more pet actions. But I really don't see anything that stops you from using the normal command animal multiple times in a round. I see in the spell area that multiple concentration spells are possible if you are willing to spend the actions.

That said normal command animal is pretty specific about burning more actions to make your target animal do more stuff while the animal companion rules specifically change that functionality. It makes no mention of being able to spend more than the one action on it.

I can still sort of see it both ways. The fact that feat exists at all seems to indicate they expect animal companions default is 1 action per turn to gain 2 pet actions per turn.

My guess is that the only reason "Command an Animal" lacks the flourish trait is because it would be kind of unfairly limiting on Rangers who want to split their focus between the Animal Companion feats and the Dual-Wielding or Archery feats.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Normal Command An Animal results in the animal using its actions on its next turn to do as commanded. As a minion an animal companion only has actions if it is commanded and does not have a turn of its own. It has no actions or turns to follow your commands with. It only gains actions if you command it, and then only 2, once on your turn.

You can use all three of your actions to command a normal animal which then will use all three of its actions on its turn to comply.

Basically an animal companion has no more actions to give.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Companion's Cry does what now? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.