[Spheres] Enemy is "flat-footed against your attacks" - do you provoke AoOs?


Advice and Rules Questions


I'm currently playing as a Tiny character - an imp using the monster class from Dreamscarred Press - that intends to be a nuisance by making use of the Scale Foe talent. The character has some racial spell-like abilities as well as spellcasting abilities via Spheres of Power talents, and I have a boggle regarding the following clause in Scale Foe:

Scale Foe wrote:
"The creature is also flat-footed against your attacks."

Flat-footed characters cannot make attacks of opportunity.

If the imp climbs onto an enemy and uses a magic sphere ability without casting defensively, does he then provoke an attack of opportunity?

What if the sphere ability targets the enemy (which would usually count as "an attack", would break standard Vancian invisibility etc.)?

What if the imp attempts to use its racial Invisibility spell-like ability while clinging to the foe?

The way that the quoted line is written seems to give rise to some inconsistency in what magic provokes AoOs while clinging to someone...


Being flat footed does not prevent provoking an attack of opportunity. It usually prevents someone from taking an attack of opportunity. This may seem like the same thing but is not. The feat combat reflexes allow a person who is flat footed to take an attack of opportunity. If being flat footed prevents you from provoking the attack of opportunity this would not happen. Since the combat reflexes specifically allow an attack of opportunity while flat footed, being flat footed cannot prevent an attack of opportunity from being provoked.


Mysterious Stranger wrote:
Being flat footed does not prevent provoking an attack of opportunity. It usually prevents someone from taking an attack of opportunity. This may seem like the same thing but is not. The feat combat reflexes allow a person who is flat footed to take an attack of opportunity. If being flat footed prevents you from provoking the attack of opportunity this would not happen. Since the combat reflexes specifically allow an attack of opportunity while flat footed, being flat footed cannot prevent an attack of opportunity from being provoked.

I fully concur with your statements, but I'm confused by them all the same.

A creature using the Scale Foe talent is (as far as I can tell) not flat-footed, but the target that is climbed onto is flat-footed against the climber's attacks.

My questions hinge on whether the target is considered flat-footed only against certain actions ("attacks") taken by the climber.


The way it's worded it's only considered flat footed in regards to resolving your attacks.

They don't get their dex bonus to AC, you get sneak attack damage dice, all that good stuff.

But they can still make AoOs against you or anyone else around them (provided they could do that without you scaling them). They don't actually become flat footed, it just makes it easier for you to damage them.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Third-Party Pathfinder RPG Products / Advice and Rules Questions / [Spheres] Enemy is "flat-footed against your attacks" - do you provoke AoOs? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Advice and Rules Questions