Rations & Bulk ?


Rules Discussion

51 to 54 of 54 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
Gaterie wrote:
OK so you can carry 2 half empty waterskin for a weight of LL. But is there a rule saying a half empty waterskin has enough water for half a day?

Not a problem; every 24 hours I take one half-full waterskin, empty into another one, and guzzle down the resulting full waterskin. My encumbrance spikes for a moment, but I'm in camp so who cares?

Note that this technique can be generalized to carrying N waterskins each (N-1)/N filled with water. Each day you pour 1/N of a skin from the last waterskin into the first non-empty one, then guzzle the resulting full skin. Lasts you N-1 days and you only ever (between camps) have N*L encumbrance at most!

While this would obviously be an incredibly bogus thing to do, the reasons have nothing to do with the math not working.

lol. Reminds me of the commoner rail gun.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:

Not a problem; every 24 hours I take one half-full waterskin, empty into another one, and guzzle down the resulting full waterskin. My encumbrance spikes for a moment, but I'm in camp so who cares?

Note that this technique can be generalized to carrying N waterskins each (N-1)/N filled with water. Each day you pour 1/N of a skin from the last waterskin into the first non-empty one, then guzzle the resulting full skin. Lasts you N-1 days and you only ever (between camps) have N*L encumbrance at most!

Well, this adds a new spin on the classic "How long does it take you to cross a desert if you can only carry X days of supplies at one time?"


Gwaihir Scout wrote:
Well, this adds a new spin on the classic "How long does it take you to cross a desert if you can only carry X days of supplies at one time?"

Came up in a Discworld book IIRC. They buried supplies in the desert at increasing distances until they had enough laid out to march an army across. Took something like 30 years of planning.


Ravingdork wrote:
Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
Gaterie wrote:
OK so you can carry 2 half empty waterskin for a weight of LL. But is there a rule saying a half empty waterskin has enough water for half a day?

Not a problem; every 24 hours I take one half-full waterskin, empty into another one, and guzzle down the resulting full waterskin. My encumbrance spikes for a moment, but I'm in camp so who cares?

Note that this technique can be generalized to carrying N waterskins each (N-1)/N filled with water. Each day you pour 1/N of a skin from the last waterskin into the first non-empty one, then guzzle the resulting full skin. Lasts you N-1 days and you only ever (between camps) have N*L encumbrance at most!

While this would obviously be an incredibly bogus thing to do, the reasons have nothing to do with the math not working.

lol. Reminds me of the commoner rail gun.

I created a monster.

Excellent! :D

51 to 54 of 54 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Rations & Bulk ? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.