What are the restrictions on a Warpriest swift casting using fervor?


Rules Questions


I'm not clear on which spells a Warpriest can swift cast with fervor.

The ACG says: "Spells cast in this way [using fervor] don’t require somatic components and do not provoke attacks of opportunity."

One of the classic spells for the Warpriest, Divine Favor, lists its components as V, S, and DF. Am I to assume that a divine focus falls under the category of somatic components?

Another spell I'm hoping to cast with fervor is Defending Bone. This spell lists its components as V, S, F (a Medium creature’s skull or femur), and DF. NJolly's Warpriest guide labels this spell as castable with fervor but using the bone as part of the spell would seem to require a free hand which would be impossible for a two-handed Warpriest.

Can I conclude that I can swift cast any spell without a material component or is it more complicated than that?

Richard


You don't require a Somatic component... the S in those components. In the definition of Somatic components it states:

Magic wrote:

Somatic (S)

A somatic component is a measured and precise movement of the hand. You must have at least one hand free to provide a somatic component.

Ironically in reading the actual definition of M for Material components, and going on into F for Focus and DF for Divine Focus it never ACTUALLY states that you need to be holding these components as part of the spellcasting nor does it state the requirement of having at least one hand free
Magic wrote:

Material (M)

A material component consists of one or more physical substances or objects that are annihilated by the spell energies in the casting process. Unless a cost is given for a material component, the cost is negligible. Don’t bother to keep track of material components with negligible cost. Assume you have all you need as long as you have your spell component pouch.

Focus (F)

A focus component is a prop of some sort. Unlike a material component, a focus is not consumed when the spell is cast and can be reused. As with material components, the cost for a focus is negligible unless a price is given. Assume that focus components of negligible cost are in your spell component pouch.

Divine Focus (DF)

A divine focus component is an item of spiritual significance. The divine focus for a cleric or a paladin is a holy symbol appropriate to the character’s faith. The divine focus for a druid or a ranger is a sprig of holly, or some other sacred plant.

If the Components line includes F/DF or M/DF, the arcane version of the spell has a focus component or a material component (the abbreviation before the slash) and the divine version has a divine focus component (the abbreviation after the slash)

Thus I posit that as long as you have your Divine Focus (holy symbol) on you (and in the case of Defending Bone have the skull or femur of a Medium sized creature on your person somewhere) these spells go off as intended, not requiring at least one hand free and with no Somatic components. Thus the reason there is no AoO.


Core Rulebook -> Magic wrote:
To cast a spell, you must be able to speak (if the spell has a verbal component), gesture (if it has a somatic component), and manipulate the material components or focus (if any).

You don't necessarily have to be holding a material or focus component, but you do need a hand free to manipulate it. All fervor does for you is eliminate the somatic component of the spell; you're still stuck with material and focus components, if any. Seems like an oversight since a whole lot of warpriest spells require a divine focus.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Divine focuses should be purchased separately from the spell component pouch, the pouch contains only focuses, not divine focuses.

AFAIK, to use a divine focus you need to show it when casting the spell, but having it on a visible necklace should be enough (but my search-fu has found that is spelled out only for channeling, not spellcasting). There are several other ways to have it available without using hands, beside it hanging from a necklace:
Birthmark/url]
[url=https://aonprd.com/EquipmentMiscDisplay.aspx?ItemName=Holy%20symbol%20(tattoo)]Tattoo

I haven't found the reference, it is in some splatbook, but there is the possibility to engrave your holy symbol on your armor, shield or weapon.


Consecrated Weapon is a cheap and convenient enough option that I think people trend toward ignoring all of this.

Edit: in adventurer’s armory. Also can go on shields.


Consecrated does not allow the weapon to function as a divine focus. It allows you to channel energy through the weapon as if you had Channel Smite. Reliquary is what allows a weapon to be used as a divine focus. The Sacred enchantment will also do this and also allows you to bestow your minor blessing on an ally.


Mysterious Stranger wrote:
Consecrated does not allow the weapon to function as a divine focus. It allows you to channel energy through the weapon as if you had Channel Smite. Reliquary is what allows a weapon to be used as a divine focus. The Sacred enchantment will also do this and also allows you to bestow your minor blessing on an ally.
My take is based on
Divine focus wrote:
The divine focus for a cleric or a paladin is a holy symbol appropriate to the character’s faith
and then looking at
consecrated weapon, which is a channel focus wrote:
The cleric can use the focus as a holy symbol

I agree that Reliquary is more explicit.


Diego Rossi wrote:

Divine focuses should be purchased separately from the spell component pouch, the pouch contains only focuses, not divine focuses.

If you use a divine focus, you don't need a spell component pouch. For any spell that a component pouch would work, a divine focus takes the material component's place. The only time a divine caster needs a material component is when the material component has a listed value.

Some sources list tattoos as a holy symbol. Also there is a trait that makes your birthmark work as a holy symbol.


Meirril wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:

Divine focuses should be purchased separately from the spell component pouch, the pouch contains only focuses, not divine focuses.

If you use a divine focus, you don't need a spell component pouch. For any spell that a component pouch would work, a divine focus takes the material component's place. The only time a divine caster needs a material component is when the material component has a listed value.

Some sources list tattoos as a holy symbol. Also there is a trait that makes your birthmark work as a holy symbol.

Incorrect, the divine focus only takes the place on M/DF listed components, otherwise the spell still requires a material component.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / What are the restrictions on a Warpriest swift casting using fervor? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.