Charging down a hallway....


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

Player A wants to use a charge action to move/attack Enemy X. Player A is 30 ft from the square next to Player B. The 5 ft wide hallway opens into a room 15 ft wide. Can Player A charge to the square next to Player B, and attack Enemy X with cover? Would this be allowed?
x
x
x
--------------------------
---------------|X
A..................B
---------------|Y
--------------------------


"If any line from your starting space to the ending space passes through a square that blocks movement...you can't charge"

According to the RAW, no.
I don't see how Player A can even see enemy X at the start of the charge, anyway.

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

To clarify, Player A is charging to the space before Player B (not the space beyond in the room. Player A will finish his charge while still in the hallway, at the opening to the room. Player A will be attacking Enemy X around a hard corner at the end of the charge. Enemy X has cover from this attack.

Is this valid for a charge action?


WWWWWWWX
AEEEEEEB
WWWWWWWY

W = Walls
E = Empty Squares
A,B,X,Y = creatures

A can charge X, as they have line of sight from their bottom right corner to the bottom right corner of X. They're required move to the square in front of B for this attack. X has cover as at least one corner goes through a wall from A's square to x's.


From the charge rules "If you don’t have line of sight to the opponent >at the start< of your turn, you can’t charge that opponent."

So I do not think you would be able to attack X or Y


After reading more I think I am wrong in my first reply.

You do not have line of sight if something has total cover or is concealed. Unless X and Y are hiding/invisible they have neither, they only have cover. I believe you can charge something in cover and the square in front of B is still one of the closest squares.

So unless someone can point out a flaw in my reading I believe the answer is Yes, you can attack X and Y by charging into the square in front of B

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

Thank you. That's how we played it. A was able to Charge X, though X received Cover to AC from that attack.

Just confirming I didn't overlook a rule that prevented a Charge in this situation.


Nekokami wrote:
...unless someone can point out a flaw in my reading...

It all depends on whether or not the enemies are indeed close enough to the player's starting position to have cover versus total cover. If they are close enough, then yes.

Personally, I've always felt that the charge rules could be a little more flexible; I think it'd be fairly reasonable to allow a charging character a chance to vault over some difficult terrain as part of their charge, for example.


I see no rule stating that one can't make an Acrobatics check as part of a charge just as one can as part of any other movement. So long as your movement isn't impeded (e.g., by a failed check) and you maintain your straight-line approach, you should be good to go.


blahpers wrote:
I see no rule stating that one can't make an Acrobatics check as part of a charge...

"You must have a clear path toward the opponent, and nothing can hinder your movement (such as difficult terrain or obstacles)...If any line from your starting space to the ending space passes through a square that blocks movement, slows movement, or contains a creature (even an ally), you can't charge." I think I must have misread those two points as one. Yeah, nothing can hinder your movement, so as long as you roll to avoid the hindrance, you're good to go.

I usually don't bother with close readings to find every difference between 3.5 and Pathfinder, so then I see things like that and get a little nervous.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Charging down a hallway.... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.