Sorcerer Feat for 1st level...where is it?


Rules Discussion


Hello,

Am I seeing it incorrectly or is there a mistake with the sorcerer class listing? I see a List of first level feats ( as per the Wizard class ). It I don’t see a feat as a benefit for the first level of sorcerer in their Class Features. Other classes such as rogues, rangers, fighters, monks, etc get a 1st level class feat in some form or another but the sorcerer does not. Can anyone help clarify this please. Thanks.

Signed - Rene’ Alfonso


4 people marked this as a favorite.

Wizard getting a first level class feat was a typo that will be corrected. None of the casters get a first-level class feat.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

The Natural Ambition ancestry feat lets humans take a first-level class feat at first level.


whew wrote:
The Natural Ambition ancestry feat lets humans take a first-level class feat at first level.

True. I took advantage of that with another character I created but I just created a gnome sorceress and I was hoping to get a 1st level feat. Reading over the Players Handbook which is massive by itself I have a feeling the errata document is going to be pretty big.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Keep in mind that just because a feat is 1st level, doesn't mean you can't take it at higher levels when you are given the option to take a feat.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yeah, for all casters their first level feat or feat-equivalent is covered by a class choice (Sorcerer bloodline, Cleric doctrine, Wizard school, Druid order, Bard Muse).


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Edge93, Tender Tendrils, and Whew all have the right of it- the first level class feats for some classes are there for a combination of their base class features, the human ancestry feat, and as additional options for your second level selection.


I thought I cannot take a level 2 feat at level 10, be it an ancestry feat, a class feat or a skill feat. Am I wrong?


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Aenigma wrote:
I thought I cannot take a level 2 feat at level 10, be it an ancestry feat, a class feat or a skill feat. Am I wrong?

You can take a feat of that level or lower in the same category.


Aenigma wrote:
I thought I cannot take a level 2 feat at level 10, be it an ancestry feat, a class feat or a skill feat. Am I wrong?

You can take any feats of previous levels, only for that type of feat. So your level 13 ancestry feat could be used to take a level 5 ancestry feat you really wanted but missed, for instance.

I'm not sure if this is written explicitly. On page 18, in the sample feat block under Prerequisites, it calls out the Feat Level as a class level prerequisite, though technically it doesn't say it's a minimum class level like the other prerequisites listed above so I could see the confusion. However, that is the intention.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Sorcerer Feat for 1st level...where is it? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.