Are magic item slots gone in P2E?


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Just wanted to make sure I'm understanding this correctly. The rules for magical item slots no longer exist. Now I can invest any 10 worn magical items I want?

So, for example, I could wear 10 magical rings and have them all function?

If that's the case, aside from GM directive, what is stopping someone from doing something silly, like wearing 10 magical hats?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

As I understand it, the only thing keeping you from wearing a tower of magic hats is the GM. It's conceivable that one group of players would find this mental image very amusing, while another might want to limit the hat tower to like 3 for reasons of verisimilitude.

Like there's absolutely no reason you shouldn't be able to wear 10 belts.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

From p. 535 under section heading Heald or Worn:

"An item that needs to be worn to function lists “worn” as its usage. This is followed by another word if the character is limited to only one of that type of item. For instance, a character can wear any number of rings, so the entry for a ring would list only “worn.” However, if the Usage entry were “worn cloak,” then a character couldn’t wear another cloak on top of that one."


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Are you sure 353 is the right page number? I see that as smack dab in the middle of the spells chapter (with moon frenzy and moment of renewal).

EDIT: Oh, it's 535. I don't know why the rules seem to assume you can't wear two cloaks- I can wear two cloaks.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yah I dislexified it. It's 535 I edited my post above. Sorry.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Bardarok wrote:

From p. 535 under section heading Heald or Worn:

"An item that needs to be worn to function lists “worn” as its usage. This is followed by another word if the character is limited to only one of that type of item. For instance, a character can wear any number of rings, so the entry for a ring would list only “worn.” However, if the Usage entry were “worn cloak,” then a character couldn’t wear another cloak on top of that one."

Then, based off of the final fantasy character designs I've seen, I assume I can have 10 belts. And a lot of zippers (nonmagical and ultimately purposeless).


PossibleCabbage wrote:
Like there's absolutely no reason you shouldn't be able to wear 10 belts.

Reasons why you shouldn't necessarily be able to wear more than one of particular sorts of magic items (not saying any of these in particular are the reason Paizo went with):

  • Reducing table variance comparative to "you can wear as many as 'makes sense' to your GM"
  • Items aren't just worn to be activated, but worn in a specific way and that causes compatibility issues with other items of the same sort
  • The items have more intelligence than stated, and easily get jealous and are very petty about it, so they refuse to work together
  • To reduce potential for unexpected and/or unintended combinations of abilities


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Looks like belts have a "belt" slot.

These are all the "slots" I've been able to find so far.

- anklets
- armbands
- backpack
- barding (for companion creatures)
- belt
- bracelet (note that slotless bracelets also appear to exist)
- bracers
- circlet
- cloak
- collar (usually, but not always for companion creatures)
- eyepiece
- garment
- gloves
- headwear
- horseshoes (for companion creatures)
- mask
- shoes

Rings, necklaces, amulets, broaches, and other small pieces of jewelry tend to be slotless it would seem.

But what about PANTS!?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Pants are part of armor obviously. If you are an alchemist with a thing for unstable mutagens I recommend purple pants.


Ravingdork wrote:

Just wanted to make sure I'm understanding this correctly. The rules for magical item slots no longer exist. Now I can invest any 10 worn magical items I want?

So, for example, I could wear 10 magical rings and have them all function?

If that's the case, aside from GM directive, what is stopping someone from doing something silly, like wearing 10 magical hats?

Does this mean we could change item slots without having to pay ye olde 1.5x tax, and that spiffy robe could be worn as a magnificent cape?


Bardarok wrote:

From p. 535 under section heading Heald or Worn:

"An item that needs to be worn to function lists “worn” as its usage. This is followed by another word if the character is limited to only one of that type of item. For instance, a character can wear any number of rings, so the entry for a ring would list only “worn.” However, if the Usage entry were “worn cloak,” then a character couldn’t wear another cloak on top of that one."

Hoooray. A bit of common sense made it into the rules. Although if you want 10 belts ask your GM if they are willing to allow it.


Corvo Spiritwind wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:

Just wanted to make sure I'm understanding this correctly. The rules for magical item slots no longer exist. Now I can invest any 10 worn magical items I want?

So, for example, I could wear 10 magical rings and have them all function?

If that's the case, aside from GM directive, what is stopping someone from doing something silly, like wearing 10 magical hats?

Does this mean we could change item slots without having to pay ye olde 1.5x tax, and that spiffy robe could be worn as a magnificent cape?

I'm interested in knowing this as well, and also, would the game be accidentally shattered into itty bitty pieces if items were made into other forms? Bracers into a jacket, for example? Or is PF2 continuing the trend from PF1 of having certain slots be more important/trend to different bonuses and ability types than others?

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
John Lynch 106 wrote:
Hoooray. A bit of common sense made it into the rules. Although if you want 10 belts ask your GM if they are willing to allow it.

Belts are “worn belt” items. You can only wear one.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Ravingdork wrote:

Looks like belts have a "belt" slot.

These are all the "slots" I've been able to find so far.

- anklets
- armbands
- backpack
- barding (for companion creatures)
- belt
- bracelet (note that slotless bracelets also appear to exist)
- bracers
- circlet
- cloak
- collar (usually, but not always for companion creatures)
- eyepiece
- garment
- gloves
- headwear
- horseshoes (for companion creatures)
- mask
- shoes

Rings, necklaces, amulets, broaches, and other small pieces of jewelry tend to be slotless it would seem.

But what about PANTS!?

Try here and here.

I highly recommend both products.


TomParker wrote:
John Lynch 106 wrote:
Hoooray. A bit of common sense made it into the rules. Although if you want 10 belts ask your GM if they are willing to allow it.
Belts are “worn belt” items. You can only wear one.

Unless your GM says otherwise. Personally I think 10 belts are silly. But during the playtest and since I’ve seen people argue that it makes perfect sense to wear 10 belts. If their GM agrees then they have the ability to override the rules.

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
John Lynch 106 wrote:
Unless your GM says otherwise. Personally I think 10 belts are silly. But during the playtest and since I’ve seen people argue that it makes perfect sense to wear 10 belts. If their GM agrees then they have the ability to override the rules.

That is literally possible for anything—the GM can always make any house rule they want. Since this is the rules forum, it’s worth being clear that the rules do not allow ten belts. Or even two.


Sorry if suggesting someone (like PossibleCabbage) could wear 10 belts with a GM’s permission offended you.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Ravingdork wrote:

Looks like belts have a "belt" slot.

But what about PANTS!?

This came up during the playtest and there was an overwhelming majority that wanted to keep Pathfinder the Pantsless Roleplaying System.


Ravingdork wrote:

Looks like belts have a "belt" slot.

These are all the "slots" I've been able to find so far.

- anklets
- armbands
- backpack
- barding (for companion creatures)
- belt
- bracelet (note that slotless bracelets also appear to exist)
- bracers
- circlet
- cloak
- collar (usually, but not always for companion creatures)
- eyepiece
- garment
- gloves
- headwear
- horseshoes (for companion creatures)
- mask
- shoes

Rings, necklaces, amulets, broaches, and other small pieces of jewelry tend to be slotless it would seem.

But what about PANTS!?

There is nothing in the rules that keeps items locked into the listed forms. So a cloak of X could easily be an earring of X.


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
thorin001 wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:

Looks like belts have a "belt" slot.

But what about PANTS!?

This came up during the playtest and there was an overwhelming majority that wanted to keep Pathfinder the Pantsless Roleplaying System.

Well, we'll just have to do something about that.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
thorin001 wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:

Looks like belts have a "belt" slot.

But what about PANTS!?

This came up during the playtest and there was an overwhelming majority that wanted to keep Pathfinder the Pantsless Roleplaying System.

VICTORY!


1 person marked this as a favorite.
King of Kilts wrote:
thorin001 wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:

Looks like belts have a "belt" slot.

But what about PANTS!?

This came up during the playtest and there was an overwhelming majority that wanted to keep Pathfinder the Pantsless Roleplaying System.
VICTORY!

They can have our pants, but they can never have ... our FREEDOM!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Are magic item slots gone in P2E? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.