Guardian gorget and glyph of warding


Rules Questions


Simple question - can you apply a metamagically enhanced glyph to the gorget or just a normal one?

Such as a maximised blast glyph ?

Dark Archive

Applying metamagic to a spell doesn't make it a different spell, just tweaks what it does. This is also why you are unable to bypass the "one ongoing spell effect of the same same name" rule by simply using metamagic.
For instance,you can't cast Bestow Curse on someone to give them a -4 penalty to their rolls, then cast Heightened Bestow Curse to try and make it a -8. It's not a new spell, it's the same one with tweaked effects.

In short: yep.

A more difficult question though would be: can you apply Greater Glyph of Warding to it. I'd say, by RAW no, but would be perfectly reasonable for a GM to allow.


Strictly speaking you can add all the metamagic you want to the Glyph of Warding. The item does not indicate any restrictions based on level of the spell. There is no language such as found in the Spell Storing Rings namely --> "Metamagic versions of spells take up storage space equal to their spell level modified by the metamagic feat."

And that's the rub usually when using metamagic you must use a spell slot adjusted by level increases indicated for the metamagic or in the case of a Maximized Glyph of Warding you would need to use a 6th level spell slot (Maximize being a +3 increase). Because of this I wouldn't be surprised by some table variation on whether you could do it or for the DM to put some limitation on it. That is they might object to a Maximized Intensified Empowered, Widened etc., etc. Glyph being placed in the Gorget.

Personally I'd say it needs that language included in its description.


Kayerloth wrote:

Strictly speaking you can add all the metamagic you want to the Glyph of Warding. The item does not indicate any restrictions based on level of the spell. There is no language such as found in the Spell Storing Rings namely --> "Metamagic versions of spells take up storage space equal to their spell level modified by the metamagic feat."

And that's the rub usually when using metamagic you must use a spell slot adjusted by level increases indicated for the metamagic or in the case of a Maximized Glyph of Warding you would need to use a 6th level spell slot (Maximize being a +3 increase). Because of this I wouldn't be surprised by some table variation on whether you could do it or for the DM to put some limitation on it. That is they might object to a Maximized Intensified Empowered, Widened etc., etc. Glyph being placed in the Gorget.

Personally I'd say it needs that language included in its description.

Glyph of warding doesn’t need to specify about handling metamagic, metamagic spells always count as whichever level is worse for the caster. Which in the case of putting a metamagic spell in a level-capped glyph of warding would be the higher level.

But for the OP question, the gorget doesn’t have a level restriction, so you could put a maximized empowered blast glyph on it no problem.


Perhaps I wasn't clear but that is pretty much exactly what I said wasn't it?

I think I see the disconnect. You're saying that the spell Glyph of Warding already essentially has the wording built into it since you can only put up to a 3rd level spell in there as the metamagic would (without reduction feats/traits) push the spell above 3rd anyway. Okay I can happily accept that as the correct.

The next part I think an issue pops up. I don't think you can use metamagic on the blast option. The blast option is not a spell but an optional function of the spell Glyph of Warding. So no maximized empowered blast glyph. But it's a bit odd/corner case and I can see table variation and home rules popping up a lot to allow it to be metamagicked. But then were back at it being possible to a Max, Intensified, Empowered, Widened, etc., "Glyph" and that's problematic I think.

Put another way it would be okay to place an Empowered, Maximized blast in there but not an Empowered, Maximized Sound Burst? If so why, what's the logic there?


You can’t add metamagic to ‘blast’, because it isn’t a spell per se. but you could cast a maximized, empowered glyph of warding set to operate with the blast glyph functionality; in that case, I believe the blast would be maximized. You could also put in a maximized glyph loaded with a non-maximized sound burst, which I believe would just result in a non-maximized sound burst effect.


I am getting quite confused as there are multiple elements being discussed

I have no problem with something like intensified shocking grasper empowered shocking grasp that are level 2 or 3 spells placed inside

I just don’t believe the intent of the item is you can cast a level 6 maximised blast glyph onto the gorget so it discharges for 40 points of damage on a successful hit. It seems rather strong. Although at the level that works (11+) perhaps i am getting worried over nothing as 40 damage with reflex half once per day at best is not really earthbreaking ...


By the time you have reliable access to maximized glyph of warding, a single instance of 40 damage is peanuts, even if we're talking about getting it earlier than usual via a metamagic rod and poor spending habits.

Dark Archive

Lanathar wrote:
I just don’t believe the intent of the item is you can cast a level 6 maximised blast glyph onto the gorget so it discharges for 40 points of damage on a successful hit. It seems rather strong. Although at the level that works (11+) perhaps i am getting worried over nothing as 40 damage with reflex half once per day at best is not really earthbreaking ...

If your concern is about balance, remember that they are still needing to spend the higher level spell slot to cast the metamagic'd Glyph of Warding. Its not like they are getting anything for free here, a scaled up amount of resources is being spent to achieve an appropriately scaled up level of power effect.

Level 3 spell + guardian gorget = level 3 spell cast as immediate action.
By making it a level 6 spell the equation becomes:
Level 6 spell + guardian gorget = level 6 spell cast as immediate action.
The equation is still balanced. Scaled up, but still perfectly balanced.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Guardian gorget and glyph of warding All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.