Spell-like abilities used to fulfill construction requirements for magic items


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Maybe my search-fu has failed me, but I can't find the answer to this anywhere. When it comes to magic item creation, specifically when it comes to the spells that get cast in the item creation process, can spell-like abilities be used to do this? For example, the cephalopod staff from Horror Adventures can definitely be made at CL 11th by a wizard, but it can also be made at CL 11th by a summoner IF their 11th-level summon monster VI spell-like ability can be used to fulfill that construction requirement.

Grand Lodge

One thing to note is that I'm aware that you can ignore the spell requirements for construction by adding +5 to the Spellcraft DC to construct the item for every requirement you want to ignore (minus CL and the needed feat[s], which are always required). Let's assume this is a situation where all requirements need to be met, for whatever reason.


Yes, SLAs work.

Grand Lodge

After reading the FAQ that spell-like abilities can't be used to activate spell completion or spell trigger items, I'm leaning towards no, if only because it makes little sense for those SLAs to be fine to start the item's spellcasting process (construction), but not complete it (activate it).


The FAQ that says SLAs work for crafting is probably more topical.


As lelomania points out (and links), there's an FAQ that specifically says they count for crafting magic items.

Grand Lodge

Nice, not sure how I missed that.


And yes, this means you may be able to craft a wand that you cannot use.


Strife2002 wrote:
Maybe my search-fu has failed me, but I can't find the answer to this anywhere. When it comes to magic item creation, specifically when it comes to the spells that get cast in the item creation process, can spell-like abilities be used to do this? For example, the cephalopod staff from Horror Adventures can definitely be made at CL 11th by a wizard, but it can also be made at CL 11th by a summoner IF their 11th-level summon monster VI spell-like ability can be used to fulfill that construction requirement.

You generally don't cast spells to construct items. The spells are consumed, but not cast.

Strife2002 wrote:
One thing to note is that I'm aware that you can ignore the spell requirements for construction by adding +5 to the Spellcraft DC to construct the item for every requirement you want to ignore (minus CL and the needed feat[s], which are always required). Let's assume this is a situation where all requirements need to be met, for whatever reason.

... Unless it is a spell-completion or spell-trigger item like a staff.

blahpers wrote:
And yes, this means you may be able to craft a wand that you cannot use.

Like when the Wizard scribes a scroll of Cure Light Wounds with the Cleric's help.

/cevah


Exactly.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

I rule differently in my home games, but as blahpers and Cevah have pointed out in several threads, that means that a cleric can make a divine scroll of a domain spell and be unable to cast it if he can't cast the spell with his non-domain spell slots.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell-like abilities used to fulfill construction requirements for magic items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.