Can you combine a Polymorph spell with size increase effect?


Rules Questions


I’m well aware you can’t combine a Polymorph spell with a size increasing spell, but i’m curious about supernatural abilities. Specifically I’m wondering on the combining of Form of the Dragon 1 with the Orc Sorcerer Bloodline (SU) ability power of giants.

“At 15th level, you may grow to Large size as a standard action. At this size you gain a +6 size bonus to Strength, a -2 penalty to Dexterity, a +4 size bonus to Constitution, and a +4 natural armor bonus. You may return to your normal size as a standard action. You may remain in this size for up to 1 minute per character level per day; this duration does not need to be consecutive, but it must be used in 1 minute increments.”

Thanks in advance for any and all help with this and apologies in advance if my Google fu has failed me.


Usually these abilities say something like "This works as blah blah spell."

I'm surprised this one doesn't.

In any case, there is this FAQ:

Quote:

Size increases and effective size increases: How does damage work if I have various effects that change my actual size, my effective size, and my damage dice?

As per the rules on size changes, size changes do not stack, so if you have multiple size changing effects (for instance an effect that increases your size by one step and another that increases your size by two steps), only the largest applies. The same is true of effective size increases (which includes “deal damage as if they were one size category larger than they actually are,” “your damage die type increases by one step,” and similar language). They don’t stack with each other, just take the biggest one. However, you can have one of each and they do work together (for example, enlarge person increasing your actual size to Large and a bashing shield increasing your shield’s effective size by two steps, for a total of 2d6 damage).

posted March 2015 | back to top

Which I would interpret as you only get one size change. I think you wouldn't get get the ability score changes either, if your size didn't actually change in the case of Power of Giants.


In this specific case, it would matter what your starting size is. If you are a medium sized creature, form of the dragon 1 doesn't change your size. So you still qualify for a size change from another source.

If you are not medium sized, you already have a size change and you'd need something that offers you a larger size change to get any additional effect.


Claxon

FAQ wrote:
However, you can have one of each and they do work together (for example, enlarge person increasing your actual size to Large and a bashing shield increasing your shield’s effective size by two steps, for a total of 2d6 damage

This confuses the hell out of me then.


That FAQ was written thinking about weapon damage due to size increases, but included in it that you can only have one physical size change and one effective size change.

So physical size changes are like Enlarge Person. Effective size changes are things like the Bashing magical shield special ability.


Really appreciate the help on this guys. Thanks

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can you combine a Polymorph spell with size increase effect? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.