Mythic Domain Immunity (Hierophant)


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

My group is delving into Mythic for the first time, and I have to plan my progression, so I ran into a question.

If I take Domain Immunity, and have the Magic Domain, will I become immune to the effects of Dispel Magic and Mage's Disjunction?


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Dispel Magic has unusually flexible targeting parameters, so it actually depends on how the spell is cast. If the Dispel Magic spell is cast targeting you specifically then you're immune to it, but if the caster specifically names the spell they wish to dispel they can target the spell directly, in which case you're not the target and your immunity doesn't come into play. Disjunction always targets spell effects and items, rather than creatures, so the fact that you're immune does nothing to prevent it from targeting and neutralizing any and all spell effects affecting you.


Thank you. I tend to agree, especially regarding Mage's Disjunction, unfortunately. That one would be nice to be immune to.


Actually, rereading the Path Ability again it only specifies that you have to be the target in order to Spell Turn the domain spells, not to ignore harmful effects.

It is still not likely to affect Spells like dispell Magic because they technically do not affect the character, but how about something like Deeper Darkness?


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
MunchDK wrote:
It is still not likely to affect Spells like dispell Magic because they technically do not affect the character, but how about something like Deeper Darkness?

This doesn't change anything with regards to Dispel Magic; you're still immune to Dispel Magic, but your spells aren't immune, and if the caster targets your spells directly and not you then your immunity won't protect your spells.

Similarly, this immunity does nothing to help you against Deeper Darkness. The spell does not target you or directly affect you. It affects the lighting level around you. The fact that you cannot see in supernatural darkness is immaterial to your immunity; the spell just isn't affecting you.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mythic Domain Immunity (Hierophant) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.