Sayona bleed damage?


Rules Questions


The Bestiary 4 has a creature called the Sayona, that does Bleed with its' Bite and Claw attacks. There is no Bleed damage amount listed anywhere on the page though. Has anyone come across this? I couldn't find this anywhere, maybe it's well hidden.


i think the absorb blood ability change that on purpose:

Absorb Blood (Su) A Sayona adjacent to a bleeding creature automatically accelerates the bleeding, dealing 1 point of Con damage to that creature once per round on its turn and absorbing the blood through its skin.

while they should have talked about the bleed once the Sayona is away from the target. as long as it's close the bleeding is as they stated 'accelerated' into a con damage.
as bleed is only done on the bleeding creature turn and the absorb blood change whatever bleed damage into 1 con damage (while the Sayona is adjasnat) they might have skipped what bleed the Sayona might do. still should write it down in case it moves away. i would keep it at 1 point minimum. getting con drain nd con damage with paralyze and other debuffs on this creature is worse enough for the characters./


It's a mistake. You'll have to make something up.


I just noticed this - and it's actually pretty annoying. I was creating a sayona with class levels only to find

I'm thinking 1d6 bleed, does seem reasonable? There's no reason to assume that a creature bleeding from a sayona's attacks will stay adjacent - indeed, they have strong incentive to run away.

We can assume safely that it's bleed isn't any worse than 1 Con damage, which admittedly is brutal...


Artofregicide wrote:

I just noticed this - and it's actually pretty annoying. I was creating a sayona with class levels only to find

I'm thinking 1d6 bleed, does seem reasonable? There's no reason to assume that a creature bleeding from a sayona's attacks will stay adjacent - indeed, they have strong incentive to run away.

We can assume safely that it's bleed isn't any worse than 1 Con damage, which admittedly is brutal...

Nice.


1d6 bleed is pretty standard, especially around that power level for CR 12.


AwesomenessDog wrote:
1d6 bleed is pretty standard, especially around that power level for CR 12.

That's pretty much what I thought, and the only source (a monster blog) that lists it has 1d6.

Interestingly, in an adventure path with sayonas with class levels, the bleed also isn't listed so I don't think this is an AoN thing.


It's just an editing oversight, happens way more often than you'd expect.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Sayona bleed damage? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.