Building a Bard, Asking for Carifications


Rules Discussion

Liberty's Edge

Ancestry: Gnome
- Heritage: Sensate gnome
Background: Barkeep
Class: Bard
- Muse: Enigma

STR 0 (10)
DEX 2 (14)
CON 1 (12)
INT 1 (12)
WIS 1 (12)
CHA 4 (18)

Ancestry Feat: First-World Magic

Perform cantrip: Inspire Courage

Questions:
1. I am trained in occult spells, but First-World Magic gives me a primal spell, so the spell attack modifier is 5 (not 7 as for occult spells) and the spell save DC is 15, not 17.

2. The class description does not say that I am trained in Class DC, so it is 15.

3. As I understand the new rules, I can use three actions per turn. So I could use 1 action to do Inspire Courage, and 1 action to attack.

4. I see nothing that gives me a performance spell or a focus spell, so I have none.

Have I got these right?

Liberty's Edge

5. I have leather armor, which has a STR rating of 10. Since I have STR 10, the ACP does not apply, right? If I wore studded leather armor (S@TR! 12), then the ACP would apply.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

I think you also have the Counter Performance Composition Spell, so that would be a Focus Spell for you. Page 97 for reference.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

1. The cantrip granted by First World Magic is an innate primal spell. Your proficiency in innate spells is at least trained, but if you have a better proficiency in any spell tradition, you use that proficiency instead. So your First World Magic cantrip would have a spell attack of +7 and save DC of 17.

2. I don't think bards use class DC for anything, but if you do need it for some reason, it would be DC 14 (not 15 - since it is untrained, your proficiency modifier is 0).

3. Correct. And since there are 3 actions, you still have 1 action left after using Inspire Courage and Strike.

4. Inspire Courage is a composition cantrip and Counter Performance is a composition focus spell.

5. Correct.

Liberty's Edge

Thanks, all!

Liberty's Edge

Poit wrote:

1. The cantrip granted by First World Magic is an innate primal spell. Your proficiency in innate spells is at least trained, but if you have a better proficiency in any spell tradition, you use that proficiency instead. So your First World Magic cantrip would have a spell attack of +7 and save DC of 17.

2. I don't think bards use class DC for anything, but if you do need it for some reason, it would be DC 14 (not 15 - since it is untrained, your proficiency modifier is 0).

3. Correct. And since there are 3 actions, you still have 1 action left after using Inspire Courage and Strike.

4. Inspire Courage is a composition cantrip and Counter Performance is a composition focus spell.

5. Correct.

The spellTrue Strike uses 1 action, so I could use it when I attack.

Liberty's Edge

Assuming I reach 5th level...

I have Magic Missile in my repertoire. By 5th level, I will already have the Signature Spells feature. My 1st level signature spell will be Grim Tendrils. It looks as if I could potentially do the following at 5th level:

1. Learn Magic Missile as a 3rd level spell;
2. Swap Magic Missile for some other 1st level spell;
3. Make Magic Missile my 3rd level signature spell.

Or does this fall into the "if it seems too good to be true, it is" category?


Theconiel wrote:

Assuming I reach 5th level...

I have Magic Missile in my repertoire. By 5th level, I will already have the Signature Spells feature. My 1st level signature spell will be Grim Tendrils. It looks as if I could potentially do the following at 5th level:

1. Learn Magic Missile as a 3rd level spell;
2. Swap Magic Missile for some other 1st level spell;
3. Make Magic Missile my 3rd level signature spell.

Or does this fall into the "if it seems too good to be true, it is" category?

That seems legal to me, yes.


Sorry for thread capture, but the messageboards won't let me make my own thread (got cancelled, twice)

Hi there,
I am trying to build a human bard, worshipper of Shelyn who wields a glaive.
I can get trained in the glaive via versatile heritage/ weapon proficiency (general feat).
I will get bardic weapon expertise at 11th level, but only with simple and bard's weapons (longsword, rapier, etc.).

Is there a way to get to expert proficiency in glaive/another or all martial weapons via a general feat, multiclassing or something I have missed out?

Thanks a lot!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Fighter MCD for all martial weapons. One Class Feat for proficiency, a later one for Expert.

Gnome Ancestry for glaive (and a few others). Again, one feat for proficiency, a later one for Expert though these are Ancestry which changes the economics. Add another feat if you're not a Gnome and need to gain access.

Of course, being a melee Gnome in a class that doesn't give Strength is quite a setback so Fighter MCD's better, especially since it'd unlock a few combat tricks and Resiliency if you want to be in the front.
You'll still be a secondary combatant unless you sacrifice Charisma to get Str, Dex, & Con at max. If not casting offensive spells (other than Magic Missile), this isn't so bad actually.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Building a Bard, Asking for Carifications All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.