Spells, 2 Handed Weapons, and Archery


Rules Discussion

The Exchange

I think I can do the following but wanted to make sure that I was not missing something

1) I could cast a 2 action spell (w/o material component/Focus) and then shoot an arrow (without having a MAP)

2) I could cast a 2 action spell (w/o material component/Focus) and then swing a 2Handed Weapon


1) yes, but your arrow would suffer from MAP if the spell used a Spell Attack.

2) yes

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

1. Yes

Core Rule Book page 279 wrote:


Hands
Some weapons require one hand to wield, and others require two. A few items, such as a longbow, list 1+ for its Hands entry. You can hold a weapon with a 1+ entry in one hand, but the process of shooting it requires using a second to retrieve, nock, and loose an arrow. This means
you can do things with your free hand while holding the bow without changing your grip, but the other hand must be free when you shoot. To properly wield a 1+ weapon,you must hold it in one hand and also have hand free.

2. No, while you could release one hand from the weapon(release action page 470) as a free action, but adding a hand would cost you an action (interact page 470)...look at table 6-2 table 273.

Core Rule Book table 6-2 page 273 wrote:


Detach a shield or item strapped to you 1 Interact
Change your grip by removing a hand from an item 2 Release
Change your grip by adding a hand to an item 2 Interact

That is how I read it


Yes to both. Spells don't require a free hand unless they demand material component, which your specific queries exclude.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
WHW wrote:
Yes to both. Spells don't require a free hand unless they demand material component, which your specific queries exclude.

Should... not be true. What about somatic?


"You can use this component when holding something in your hand, but not if you are restrained or otherwise unable to gesture freely."


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
WHW wrote:
"You can use this component when holding something in your hand, but not if you are restrained or otherwise unable to gesture freely."

Huh, so eschew magic materials as little as it covers, is still really powerful.


Somantic specifically says "You can use this component while holding something in your hand." Compare that to material components which say you must have a free hand. Sounds like it would work with both a bow and a two-handed sword.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Mellack wrote:
Somantic specifically says "You can use this component while holding something in your hand." Compare that to material components which say you must have a free hand. Sounds like it would work with both a bow and a two-handed sword.

Being pointed out the info about somatic and the original questions limitations, I totally agree. You could still use a greatsword because you would never need to release your weapon for the spell. Any weapon for that matter unless it was a material component spell that was not covered by eschew or the feat was not known.


Eschew Materials still requires a free hand. "Unlike when providing somatic components, you still must have a hand completely free".


You still need a hand with eschew materials.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

well nevermind then. lol

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Spells, 2 Handed Weapons, and Archery All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.