Sword and Shield Character


Rules Discussion


If I create a sword and shield character, and while I am exploring a dungeon, ruin, forest, etc., I normally keep my sword and shield sheathed, so my hands are free.

But suddenly a random encounter appears, and I need to be ready for battle.

Does it take one action to equip my shield and one more action to draw my sword?

Basically, does a sword and shied character build take 2 actions, out of the 3 available in a round, to equip the sword and shield and be ready for combat?


Best I can tell, readying a shield and drawing a weapon are both an Interact action, so yes. But usually you should have your shield ready and only use your main hand to carry a light source or something. Unless you start out wielding a bow or crossbow maybe.

Followup question: Does a shield count as a weapon for the purpose of the Quickdraw Rogue feat? While shields aren't weapons *per se*, a shield bash is listed as a martial weapon attack, and adding a shield boss as a weapon of its own is trivial.

In this case, Mad Gene Vane's character could use two actions to ready both the shield and the weapon and attack once with each one, still having an action left over to attack, move or raise the shield with. Which makes a quick jaunt over to the Rogue's ways via MC feats pretty tasty. Also makes Rogues using a shield as their off-hand weapon much more feasible.


Thanks for the clarification, and the MC rogue dip for quickdraw to shield bash and attack with a weapon is an interesting idea.


AFAIK. You can have the shield equiped and ready for raise.
but you still have to spend an action to raise.

Because there is a exploration method where you keep your s hield raised while moving.

So interact to draw the sword. your shield is there but you have to use an action to raise it (unless, I suppose, you used the exploration method)

Techincally I think quick draw (Rogue or ranger) would actually work as shield bashing and or braces doe work


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Thanks.

The idea of having a hand locked into a shield, while exploring is unnerving. I don't know why, but I get bad feeling about not having both hands free.

Just seems like you're inviting a pit trap to be sprung, which requires both hands to grab the ledge and pull yourself up, or a difficult climb, where you have to sheath the shield and when you get to the top there's an encounter. And now you have to spend 2 actions to don the shield and draw the weapon, which screws up your normal action economy.

Maybe I'm over thinking it or paranoid from playing too many RPG's or both.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

A brace is a weapon, while the shield is 'technically' a weapon without a brace. The rules under equipment for the shield say you can use it as a martial weapon. So yes, it should work. Some may say you need martial training with it at least.


There is no such thing as 'shield proficiency' though. Everybody can use a shield to get +2 AC, just not everybody can use one to block an attack. If anything, the Shield Block feat is the new shield proficiency. But as far as I can see, there is no requirement to be trained in any one weapon you may want to quickdraw.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber

I ran into the following situation:

Player had his shield slung on his back and wanted to “ready his shield “ as a single action. Does he have to draw his shield first and then ready it or can he just move straight to a state of readiness?


If you're in an area that could be dangerous, or out on the road, you could have your shield equipped at the very least, and probably your weapon out as well.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Mad Gene Vane wrote:

Thanks.

The idea of having a hand locked into a shield, while exploring is unnerving. I don't know why, but I get bad feeling about not having both hands free.

Just seems like you're inviting a pit trap to be sprung, which requires both hands to grab the ledge and pull yourself up, or a difficult climb, where you have to sheath the shield and when you get to the top there's an encounter. And now you have to spend 2 actions to don the shield and draw the weapon, which screws up your normal action economy.

Maybe I'm over thinking it or paranoid from playing too many RPG's or both.

What I see is that one character can't do everything.

If you are one of the main combatant/tank characters, then you should walk around with your shield wielded at least. Be ready for a fight to break out - but let others do the investigating and falling into pit traps.

If you are going to be the scout of the group - investigating and getting traps sprung on you, then you should probably have your hands free to do it. Even though that means that if an unexpected fight breaks out, your first round is going to be spend running behind the protectors of the party who already had their weapons and shields out and then getting your own equipment sorted out.

And yeah. That definitely increases the tension and suspense of adventuring, doesn't it?

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber

My sword and board fighter is being designed as a combat medic, so it will often not be possible for him to be wielding his shield, especially outside of combat. It would be very useful to know how this is supposed to work for sure!


The ShadowShackleton wrote:

I ran into the following situation:

Player had his shield slung on his back and wanted to “ready his shield “ as a single action. Does he have to draw his shield first and then ready it or can he just move straight to a state of readiness?

From my understanding of the rules, moving the shield from 'stowed' to 'wielded' takes one Interact action. Of course, if you want to actually get those +2 to AC, you need to spend another action to 'Raise your Shield'.

If you count in another action to draw a weapon, you need a full turn to get from 'gawking at a crack in the masonry' to 'combat ready'.

As for your combat medic, well, bucklers are a thing. If you don't mind the loss of 1 AC and them sucking at blocking (compared to a real shield), it at least allows you to hold a light non-weapon object in your off-hand and still having your buckler wielded.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Sword and Shield Character All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.