Monk FOB and trip


Rules Questions


Hello I was wondering if someone can answer this question
A monk using a monk weapon. May they make a trip maneuver during FOB or may they only use unarmed strike?


1: a trip maneuver can replace ANY melee attack (normal.not touch) you have. be it unarmed,natural or manufactured weapon.
if you do not have the right feats you might provoke aoo while doing so and or be tripped yourself if you fail.(or drop your weapon, i don't recall what happen if you fail). btw same goes for the disarm maneuver.

2: when using a monk weapon while flurrying the monk can use : the weapon to attack, his unarmed strike or a combination of the two. deciding before rolling each attack he is allowed to. (and as mentioned in #1 can replace any one such attack or more with a trip maneuver).

note that:

-monks (but not unchained monks)are not automatically proficient with all monk weapons. only the weapons listed in their class section. (unchained monks are,as specifically mentioned in their class info)

-weapon with the 'trip' special ability (such as the monk weapon 'double chained kama') give a bonus of +2 to the attack roll when using them to preform a trip maneuver. (also to perform reposition or drag maneuvers. this was later errata in)

for more info check the 'FAQ box' in the special weapon features section here


zza ni wrote:

-weapon with the 'trip' special ability (such as the monk weapon 'double chained kama') give a bonus of +2 to the attack roll when using them to preform a trip maneuver. (also to perform reposition or drag maneuvers. this was later errata in)

I'm not seeing anything in the rules that talk about a +2 bonus to trip attempts with a trip weapon. Only that a trip weapon lets you drop the weapon to avoid being tripped yourself if you fail badly. Am I missing it somewhere?


bbangerter wrote:
I'm not seeing anything in the rules that talk about a +2 bonus to trip attempts with a trip weapon. Only that a trip weapon lets you drop the weapon to avoid being tripped yourself if you fail badly. Am I missing it somewhere?

You're not, zza is wrong about that.


yea. my bad. i got confused with stuff like disarm\distracting. that give +2 to disarm \ feint and thought trip did the same for trip.


The reason I ask is that in the monk description it states that "A monk may substitute disarm, sunder, and trip combat maneuvers for unarmed attacks as part of a flurry of blows." Emphasis on "unarmed attacks. I know you can sub monk weapons for unarmed attacks but the GM is keying in on the unarmed aspect of the sentence....thanks


Disarm, sunder, and trip are the few maneuvers that can be done with a weapon (I think reposition also technically). So you can replace normal weapon attacks (whether unarmed strikes, natural attacks, or manufactured weapons) with those maneuvers freely. Literally everyone can do this, and the monk statement there is more of a clarify for flurry of blows and not a special ability.


well it is kinda needed since the monk can use almost any part of his body to attack with. one might be amazed at a a repositioning hip attack...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Monk FOB and trip All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.