Engineer Patch Action, Starship Combat


Rules Questions


I couldn't find anything on this in the FAQ, sorry if this has been covered elsewhere. The Patch action for Engineers (core rulebook pp. 323-324) says that multiple engineers can pool their actions in a single round to effect repairs more quickly, but each engineer must succeed at their Engineering check. The end of the description also reads "This action can be taken more than once per round." Is that sentence just reiterating that multiple engineers can take this same action? Or is it saying that a single engineer can take the action multiple times? There is no penalty for failure, so the latter interpretation seems unlikely (because you could just keep rolling - effectively take 20 - and patch everything in one round). But what is the point of that final sentence otherwise? Is it suggesting that one engineer can attempt to patch multiple systems per round, but not take multiple checks on a single system? The language seems incomplete and vague.


Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

The point is to make clear that multiple engineers can take that action in one round, whether or not they are pooling actions to work on the same system. The default rule for engineer actions is that a given action can only be performed once per round, no matter how many engineers you have.


HammerJack wrote:
The point is to make clear that multiple engineers can take that action in one round, whether or not they are pooling actions to work on the same system. The default rule for engineer actions is that a given action can only be performed once per round, no matter how many engineers you have.

Makes perfect sense. Thanks! I gotta stop overthinking things.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Engineer Patch Action, Starship Combat All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions